HB 3209

One Bill- Two Fixes

*See backside for list of supporters

Adjusts RV Registration Fees

RV registration fees are shared between the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department (OPRD) and all 36 counties for the sole purpose of maintaining state and county parks. They are a critical funding piece for ensuring Oregon's parks support tourism. Fees have not been increased in 24 years (were adjusted in 2007, but were actually decreased at the time). Revenues are split 55% to OPRD and 45% to counties.

Like all other services, parks and recreation is drastically impacted by historic inflation, while key revenues, such as RV registration have remained unchanged.

Legislation Actions

Increases RV registration fees to adjust for inflation (fees were **last increased in 2001**) and indexes to account for future increases based on the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region. Proposed **biennial** registration fee changes are below in **bold**.

- Trailers or campers that are 6 to 10 feet in length, [\$81] **\$125.**
- Trailers or campers over 10 feet in length, [\$81] **\$125** plus \$7 a foot for each foot of length over the first 10 feet.
- Motor homes that are 6 to 14 feet in length, [\$86] **\$132.**
- Motor homes over 14 feet in length, [\$126]
 \$194 plus \$8 a foot for each foot of length over the first 10 feet.
- For a recreational vehicle trip permit, [\$35] **\$50.**

By the Numbers

- Oregon's 36 counties manage 5,808 total campsites
- OPRD manages 5,665 total campsites
- In 2022 Outdoor Recreation spending in Oregon totaled \$16 BILLION and contributed to 192,000 jobs. Wellmaintained parks are pivotal to this impact.

Counties- \$1,500,000 Annually **OPRD-** \$1,870,000 Annually

Establishes Abandoned RV Fund

Abandoned RV's continue to plague our public spaces, placing a large financial burden on all levels of government. HB 3209 creates a funding source to pay for removal and disposal of abandoned RVs.

Most abandoned RVs are not in operable condition, require specialized (haz-mat) clean-up, and have nearly zero salvage value to offset removal and disposal costs. **Many can cost up to \$5,000 for removal and disposal.**

Modeled on a successful State of Washington program, the legislation creates a new user fee that would go to a dedicated statewide RV disposal fund to be managed by ODOT. This bill does not change existing law governing the circumstances under which an abandoned RV may be removed. It is solely focused on cost recovery. This section of the bill has a 10-year sunset.

- Creates \$25 annual abandoned recreational vehicle disposal fee paid at the time of biennial registration
- Fee proposed at \$40 when using trip permit in lieu of biennial registration

By The Numbers

- 185,000 campers, travel trailers, and motor homes registered in 2023.
- At a \$25/year disposal fee
- Raises \$4.6m/year or \$9.2m/biennium.
- Average for tow and disposal is \$5,000 each
- Will fund the removal/disposal of estimated 925 RVs per year.

For more information please contact

Cindy Robert, Rainmakers Government Strategies Cindy@rainmakersgovernmentstrategies.com 503.260.3431

Tom Holt, The Holt Company
Tom@theholtcompany.com
503.956.7461



Supporters



















