Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 9

Sponsored by Representatives DRAZAN, LEVY B, Senators SMITH DB, FREDERICK, MANNING JR, MCLANE, THATCHER; Representatives BOICE, BOSHART DAVIS, BOWMAN, BREESE-IVERSON, DIEHL, ELMER, EVANS, FAHEY, GOMBERG, HELFRICH, LEWIS, MANNIX, MARSH, MCINTIRE, NGUYEN H, OWENS, RESCHKE, SMITH G, WRIGHT, Senators BONHAM, GELSER BLOUIN, GOLDEN, MEEK, ROBINSON

Whereas Secretary of State Dennis Michael Richardson was born in Los Angeles, California, on July 30, 1949; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson served his country with honor and distinction as a helicopter pilot in the United States Army during the Vietnam War; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson was awarded the Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry for his heroism in combat; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson received a bachelor's degree and a law degree from Brigham Young University; and

Whereas after law school, Dennis Richardson set up a legal practice in Central Point, Oregon; and

Whereas in 1984, Dennis Richardson was invited by President Ronald Reagan's administration to participate at the White House in a series of briefings for the President and his Cabinet; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson served as Treasurer of the Oregon Republican Party from 1999 to 2003; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson first served in public office as a member of the Central Point City Council; and

Whereas in 2002, Dennis Richardson was elected to the Oregon House of Representatives as a Republican representing the people of the Fourth District; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson's tenure in the House of Representatives lasted six terms, and he served with distinction as Speaker Pro Tempore, Minority Whip and Co-Chair of the Joint Committee on Ways and Means; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson was unwavering in his fight for fiscally responsible, efficient and ethical government; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson was the Republican candidate for Governor in 2014 after winning his party's nomination with 65 percent of the vote, and he narrowly lost the general election; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson was elected Secretary of State in 2016, becoming the first Republican to hold statewide office in Oregon since 2002 and the first Republican to be elected Secretary of State in Oregon since 1980; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson was deeply committed as Secretary of State to serving all Oregonians, and he eschewed party politics to emphasize accountability, transparency and integrity in state government; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson embraced the Secretary of State's role as chief auditor, protecting Oregonians with tough investigations into fraud, wasteful spending and poorly run programs; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson passed away on February 26, 2019, surrounded by loved ones at his home in Central Point; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson died while serving in office as Secretary of State, working tirelessly for the people of this state; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson was survived by his beloved wife, Cathy, nine children and many grandchildren and great-grandchildren; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson was a man of faith and deeply held values, and he was renowned for his dignity, compassion and integrity; and

Whereas every aspect of Dennis Richardson's personal and professional life was influenced by his motto, *pro tanto quid retribuamus*, which means "having been given much, what will you give in return?"; and

Whereas Dennis Richardson was a brave and wise statesman, and he will forever be remembered for his decades of dedicated public service to the State of Oregon; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-third Legislative Assembly, honor and celebrate the remarkable life and achievements of Secretary of State and former state Representative Dennis Michael Richardson, and we express our sincere and abiding gratitude for his service to this state; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution shall be presented to the family of Dennis Richardson as an expression of our sympathy and condolences.

Adopted by House February 25, 2025

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Julie Fahey, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate March 27, 2025

Rob Wagner, President of Senate