# SB 566 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# Senate Committee On Veterans, Emergency Management, Federal and World Affairs

**Prepared By:** Kevin Rancik, LPRO Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 3/4

## WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure exempts the portion of Oregon within the Pacific Time Zone from Daylight Savings Time if the states of California and Washington also adopt this exemption. If this exemption does not become active by March 1, 2035, the exemption is repealed. Time standards in the portion of Oregon within the Mountain Time Zone would remain unchanged.

Fiscal impact: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued Revenue impact: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

## **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

United States Code defines time zones and allows the Secretary of Transportation to foster the adoption of standard time and enforce its use. Daylight Savings Time (DST) refers to the period from 2 a.m. on the second Sunday of March ("spring forward") through 2 a.m. on the first Sunday of November ("fall back"), during which time advances one hour. States are permitted to exempt either the entirety of their state, or the entirety of their state within a specific time zone, from DST, but Congressional approval would be needed to adopt DST year-round.

Most of Oregon is within the Pacific Time Zone, while the bulk of Malheur County is in the Mountain Time Zone. Existing statute establishes that Oregon observes standards of time as set forth in US Code. Oregon Laws 2019, Chapter 421, adopts year-round DST for the Pacific Time Zone in Oregon if the states of California and Washington also adopt year-round DST, though this provision is repealed if these states have not adopted year-round DST by December 1, 2029.

Twenty states have enacted legislation or passed resolutions to observe permanent DST in the event Congress allows it, including Washington state. California voters approved Proposition 7 in 2018, which gave the California Legislature the ability to change the DST period, but legislation to do this has not been passed. DST is not observed in Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, or in most of Arizona.

Continuous DST was established nationally during World War II, through September 30, 1945, as a way of conserving fuel, though potential health effects from changing the time have been noted. The Uniform Time Act of 1966 standardized the dates DST begins and ends, which were later changed by the Energy Policy Act of 2005. The Sunshine Protection Act, which would have made DST permanent, passed the United States Senate in 2022 but did not advance in the House.

Senate Bill 566 establishes year-round standard time for the Pacific Time Zone portion of Oregon if California and Washington also do so, and it repeals this change if it has not been adopted by March 1, 2035.