Submitter: Thomas Busse

On Behalf Oregon Taxpayers

Of:

Committee: Joint Committee On Ways and Means Subcommittee On Capital

Construction

Measure: SB5702

When the State of Oregon passed HB2527 in 2021 requiring special business licensure of private security providers, the public was told such business licenses would be under \$250.

Now, the fee-happy Legislature comes along with a bait-and-switch charging \$624 for the privilege of operating a business that is already operating. Private security is a low-wage field, and this fee will be passed along to consumers in the form of higher prices given the widespread need for small businesses in Oregon to engage private security given the lackluster policing and prosecuting characteristic of Portland. HB2527 was never necessary and should be repealed or at least sunsetted in order to enforce program effectiveness review. Otherwise, we end up with government fee programs that simply exist to pay entrenched bureaucrats and fail to benefit the public in any way.

According to the Independent Institute, the State of Oregon ranks dead last in the country for its Occupational and Professional licensing regime - and such laws have their origins in Jim Crow as a means to raise barriers to employment mobility and opportunity.