
Additional jail beds

Individual is arrested 
and booked into the 
jail for PCS, and
then arraigned 

Is counsel 
available to be
appointed?

Probation Costs

Defendant evaluated
and referred to treatment

Additional evaluators

NOT GUILTY

Is defendant
successful?
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Additional jail beds

Probation costs

Judge must make a finding of guilt  
beyond a reasonable doubt based
on the evidence submitted by
state⁶

Judicial costs

State lab costs
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At trial, 
defendant 
is found...St
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Additional jail beds

Appointed attorney
reviews discovery, 
talks to defendant about
options, trial or conditional
discharge⁴

Is defendant
successful?
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At sentencing, court may only
impose 18 months probation,
unless the defendant requests jail
time (up to 6 months)

GUILTY

NO

Defendant must enter agreement
within 30 days from appointment,
WITHOUT full discovery

Defendant acquitted
and never engaged
in treatment

Additional public defenders

While on probation on either Conditional
discharge or after sentencing, a
probation officer can punish relapses or
other violations with up to 30 days of jail,
increasing risk of overdose or
destabilizing any recovery efforts.

Additional jail beds Public health costs

Defendant sentenced to 
up to 6 months in jail
(minus time served)

Defendant referred
to probation for 18
months

GUILTY

DEFLECTION is not 
mandatory. Counties may 
choose to start a deflection 
program. Even if a county 
chooses to start deflection, 
it will be voluntary for law 
enforcement (LE) to offer 
deflection.¹ ²

Defendant referred to
probation for 1 year

NO

Charge is
dismissed

Defendant sentenced to 
up to 6 months in jail
(minus time served)

Defendant acquitted 

Probation ends - Defendant 
must wait 3 years for “auto”
expungement (longest wait for a
misdemeanor)

CONDITIONAL DISCHARGE

YES

NOTES:HB 4002 DOESN'T DO WHAT 
THEY SAY IT WILL. 
Oregon is in a treatment and public defense crisis. Recriminalization dispropotionately harms Black
and brown people, jails people with addiction, fails to provide treatment, and wastes taxpayer dollars. 

Law enforcement stops a person for
possession (PCS) of a small amount
of drugs

HB 4002 doesn’t require funding to be available until at least a
year after passage. 

1.

Law enforcement has been openly opposed to deflection
programs in Oregon.

2.

The vast majority of these cases will not have public defenders 
for the foreseeable future.

3.

HB 4002 does not require a lab report on the substance unless
defendant declines conditional discharge. In every other
prosecution, the state is required to provide all critical evidence,
prior to a defendant agreeing to take a deal. This is a deviation
from basic due process. Why?

4.

Waitlists in Portland for inpatient treatment are months long.
What happens when treatment is not available? Oregon has 50%
of the treatment services we need.

5.

Lab report will be required for this finding, which will take months.6.

Individual released with
arrest record. 
Case eventually dismissed
with no treatment referral.³

*This is going to be the most common scenario

KEY:

Possible outcome
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Is the appropriate
level of treatment
even available?⁵
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