States with Examination and Education Requirements 1/22/24

State	Commissioning Official	Bond	Term Length	Exam	Education
<u>Alabama</u>	County Probate Judges and Secretary of State	\$50,000	4 years		D : 16
Alaska	Office of Lieutenant Governor	\$2,500	4 years		Required for new and renewing
			,		
<u>Arizona</u>	Secretary of State	\$5,000	4 years	Yes	Training not required but may be used with the exam.
<u>Arkansas</u>	Secretary of State	\$7,500	10 years	Yes; for electronic Notaries	Yes; for electronic Notaries. A refresher course must be completed every two years.
California	Secretary of State	\$15,000	4 years	Yes; Proctored; New and renewing Notaries	New Notaries 6 hours Renewing Notaries 3 hours
<u>Colorado</u>	Secretary of State		4 years	Yes; Notaries who do not hold a commission must pass an exam Yes; for renewing Notaries	Yes; renewing Notaries must also take an educational course. Yes; for Notaries performing remote notarizations.
Connecticut	Secretary of State		5 years	Yes: On commission application	
<u>Delaware</u>	Secretary of State		2 years initial term and then 4 years after		
D.C.	Mayor through the Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications	\$2,000	5 years		Yes; Notary applicants must attend an orientation session covering the Notary laws and rules in D.C. Yes; applicants for an Electronic Notary endorsement must take a course of instruction.
<u>Florida</u>	Secretary of State	\$7,500 traditional \$25,000 online	4 years		Yes; 3 hours live or interactive for new Notaries only; Yes; 2 hours for Online Notaries beginning January 1, 2020
<u>Georgia</u>	Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority		4 years		
<u>Hawaii</u>	Attorney General	\$1,000	4 years	Yes	
Idaho	Secretary of State	\$10,000	6 years		Yes, required by rule
Illinois	Secretary of State	\$5,000 traditional \$25,000 online	4 years	Authorizes the Secretary of State to require Notaries and electronic Notaries to take an exam effective January 1, 2022, or when the Secretary publishes rules, whichever is later.	Yes, initial and renewing Notaries and Electronic Notaries must take a course.
<u>Indiana</u>	Secretary of State	\$25,000	8 years	Yes; new and renewing Notaries	Yes; for new Notaries. Yes; 2 hours for renewing Notaries.
<u>Iowa</u>	Secretary of State		3 years		Required for Notaries who perform remote notarial acts and renewing Notaries who perform remote notarial acts.
Kansas	Secretary of State	\$12,000	4 years	Yes; for remote Notaries beginning January 1, 2022.	Yes; remote Notaries beginning January 1, 2022.
Kentucky	Secretary of State	\$1,000	4 years		Yes, required by rule
Louisiana	Secretary of State	\$10,000	Lifetime	Yes (nonattorneys)	A study guide is available for \$100 to assist with passing the examination. Required for online notary
<u>Maine</u>	Secretary of State		7 years	Yes: On commission application	Yes, remote notaries
<u>Maryland</u>	Secretary of State		4 years	Yes; for initial applicants beginning October 1, 2020.	Yes; for both new and renewing applicants beginning October 1 2020
Massachusetts	Secretary of State		7 years		Yes, required by rule for initial commission

Michigan	Secretary of State		6 years		
wichigan	Secretary of State		6 years		
<u>Minnesota</u>	Secretary of State	\$10,000	5 years		
N.C. 1. 1. 1	Committee of Otata	<b>\$5,000</b>	4		Yes, remote notaries
<u>Mississippi</u>	Secretary of State	\$5,000	4 years		
<u>Missouri</u>	Secretary of State	\$10,000	4 years		Yes; New and renewing Notaries, Electronic Notaries and Remote Online Notaries; online or written course.
<u>Montana</u>	Secretary of State	\$25,000	4 years	Yes; for both new and renewing Notary applicants Yes: for Notaries using an electronic notarization system or communication technology to perform online notarizations	Yes, 4 hours for new Notary applicants beginning October 1, 2020. Yes: 4 hours of continuing education for renewal applicants beginning October 1, 2020. Yes; for online Notaries beginning October 1, 2020. Yes; for Notaries using an electronic notarization system or communication technology to perform online
<u>Nebraska</u>	Secretary of State	\$15,000	4 years	Yes: Open-book exam. Yes; for online Notaries beginning July 1, 2020.	Yes, for Electronic Notaries. Yes, for Online Notaries beginning July 1, 2020.
<u>Nevada</u>	Secretary of State	\$10,000	4 years	Yes, Notaries Public. Yes, Electronic Notaries.	Yes; 3 hours for new and renewing Notaries. Yes; for Electronic Notaries.
New Hampshire	Secretary of State		5 years		
New Jersey	State Treasurer		5 years	Yes, for new and renewal Notaries effective July 22, 2022.	Yes, for new and renewing Notaries effective July 22, 2022.
New Mexico	Secretary of State	\$10,000	4 years	Yes; for applicants who do not hold a Notary commission effective January 1, 2022.	Yes; initial applicants for a Notary commission and automatic notarial officers must take a course.
New York	Secretary of State		4 years	Yes: Proctored; New Notaries and Notaries whose commission have lapsed by more than 6 months	
N. Carolina	Secretary of State		5 years	Yes	Yes; new Notary applicants; community college course; Yes; course required for Electronic and Online Notaries.
North Dakota	Secretary of State	\$7,500	4 years		
<u>Ohio</u>	Secretary of State		5 years	Yes	Yes: 3 hours for new commission applicants; 1 hour for renewing applicants. Yes; for Online Notaries.
<u>Oklahoma</u>	Secretary of State	\$1,000	4 years		
Oregon	Secretary of State		4 years	Yes: On commission application	Yes: 3 hours for new commission applicants. Renewing Notaries who apply for a new commission and pass the exam before the expiration of their current term are exempted.
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania	Secretary of the Commonwealth	\$10,000	4 years	Yes, effective late 2017	Yes; new Notaries only: 3 hours live or interactive.
Rhode Island	Secretary of State		4 years		Training is provided but not required
South Carolina	Secretary of State		10 years	Yes, for Electronic Notaries.	Yes; Electronic Notaries must take a course.
South Dakota	Secretary of State	\$5,000	6 years		
<u>Tennessee</u>	Secretary of State	\$10,000	4 years		Training apprint a growth of growth of sides and a growth of sides
<u>Texas</u>	Secretary of State	\$10,000	4 years		Training required every 4 years in the form of video and PowerPoint presentations
<u>Utah</u>	Lieutenant Governor	\$5,000	4 years	Yes, fee is \$95	
Vermont	Secretary of State		2 years	Yes; new Notary applicants applying after February 1, 2021.	Yes; 2 hours of continuing education required beginning in 2021.
<u>Virginia</u>	Governor appoints and Secretary of Commonwealth commissions		4 years		

Washington	Director of Licensing commissions	\$10,000	4 years		
West Virginia	Secretary of State		5 years		
		No longer required as of 2018			
	Governor appoints and Secretary of Financial Instituitions regulates	\$500	4 years	Yes	Yes, Electronic Notaries must take a course
Wyoming	Secretary of State		6 years	Yes	Required for new and renewal Notaries beginning July 1, 2021.

<sup>© 2024</sup> National Notary Association