Enrolled Senate Bill 1541

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Chief Justice Meagan A. Flynn for Judicial Department)

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to judicial positions; creating new provisions; amending ORS 3.012; and prescribing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 3.012 is amended to read:

3.012. (1) The judicial districts, the counties constituting the judicial districts and the number of circuit court judges for each judicial district are as follows:

(a) The first judicial district consists of Jackson County and has [10] 11 judges.

(b) The second judicial district consists of Lane County and has 15 judges.

(c) The third judicial district consists of Marion County and has 15 judges.

(d) The fourth judicial district consists of Multnomah County and has 38 judges.

(e) The fifth judicial district consists of Clackamas County and has 11 judges.

(f) The sixth judicial district consists of the counties of Morrow and Umatilla and has five judges.

(g) The seventh judicial district consists of the counties of Gilliam, Hood River, Sherman, Wasco and Wheeler and has four judges.

- (h) The eighth judicial district consists of Baker County and has one judge.
- (i) The ninth judicial district consists of Malheur County and has two judges.
- (j) The tenth judicial district consists of the counties of Union and Wallowa and has two judges.

(k) The eleventh judicial district consists of Deschutes County and has nine judges.

- (L) The twelfth judicial district consists of Polk County and has three judges.
- (m) The thirteenth judicial district consists of Klamath County and has five judges.
- (n) The fourteenth judicial district consists of Josephine County and has five judges.
- (o) The fifteenth judicial district consists of the counties of Coos and Curry and has six judges.
- (p) The sixteenth judicial district consists of Douglas County and has five judges.
- (q) The seventeenth judicial district consists of Lincoln County and has three judges.
- (r) The eighteenth judicial district consists of Clatsop County and has three judges.
- (s) The nineteenth judicial district consists of Columbia County and has three judges.
- (t) The twentieth judicial district consists of Washington County and has [15] 16 judges.

(u) The twenty-first judicial district consists of Benton County and has three judges.

(v) The twenty-second judicial district consists of the counties of Crook and Jefferson and has three judges.

(w) The twenty-third judicial district consists of Linn County and has five judges.

Enrolled Senate Bill 1541 (SB 1541-A)

(x) The twenty-fourth judicial district consists of the counties of Grant and Harney and has one judge.

(y) The twenty-fifth judicial district consists of Yamhill County and has four judges.

(z) The twenty-sixth judicial district consists of Lake County and has one judge.

(aa) The twenty-seventh judicial district consists of Tillamook County and has two judges.

(2) The Secretary of State shall designate position numbers equal to the number of judges in each of the judicial districts established by this section. The positions shall reflect any qualifications

established by ORS 3.041.

SECTION 2. ORS 3.012, as amended by section 1 of this 2024 Act, is amended to read:

3.012. (1) The judicial districts, the counties constituting the judicial districts and the number of circuit court judges for each judicial district are as follows:

(a) The first judicial district consists of Jackson County and has 11 judges.

(b) The second judicial district consists of Lane County and has 15 judges.

(c) The third judicial district consists of Marion County and has 15 judges.

(d) The fourth judicial district consists of Multnomah County and has 38 judges.

(e) The fifth judicial district consists of Clackamas County and has [11] 12 judges.

(f) The sixth judicial district consists of the counties of Morrow and Umatilla and has five judges.

(g) The seventh judicial district consists of the counties of Gilliam, Hood River, Sherman, Wasco and Wheeler and has four judges.

(h) The eighth judicial district consists of Baker County and has one judge.

(i) The ninth judicial district consists of Malheur County and has two judges.

(j) The tenth judicial district consists of the counties of Union and Wallowa and has two judges.

(k) The eleventh judicial district consists of Deschutes County and has nine judges.

(L) The twelfth judicial district consists of Polk County and has three judges.

(m) The thirteenth judicial district consists of Klamath County and has five judges.

(n) The fourteenth judicial district consists of Josephine County and has five judges.

(o) The fifteenth judicial district consists of the counties of Coos and Curry and has six judges.

(p) The sixteenth judicial district consists of Douglas County and has five judges.

(q) The seventeenth judicial district consists of Lincoln County and has three judges.

(r) The eighteenth judicial district consists of Clatsop County and has three judges.

(s) The nineteenth judicial district consists of Columbia County and has three judges.

(t) The twentieth judicial district consists of Washington County and has 16 judges.

(u) The twenty-first judicial district consists of Benton County and has three judges.

(v) The twenty-second judicial district consists of the counties of Crook and Jefferson and has three judges.

(w) The twenty-third judicial district consists of Linn County and has five judges.

(x) The twenty-fourth judicial district consists of the counties of Grant and Harney and has one judge.

(y) The twenty-fifth judicial district consists of Yamhill County and has four judges.

(z) The twenty-sixth judicial district consists of Lake County and has one judge.

(aa) The twenty-seventh judicial district consists of Tillamook County and has two judges.

(2) The Secretary of State shall designate position numbers equal to the number of judges in each of the judicial districts established by this section. The positions shall reflect any qualifications established by ORS 3.041.

SECTION 3. The amendments to ORS 3.012 by section 2 of this 2024 Act become operative on July 1, 2025.

SECTION 4. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the General Fund appropriation made to the Judicial Department by section 1 (1), chapter 380, Oregon Laws 2023, for the biennium ending June 30, 2025, for judicial compensation, is increased by \$579,865, for the purpose of carrying out the amendments to ORS 3.012 by sections 1 and 2 of this 2024 Act.

<u>SECTION 5.</u> Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the General Fund appropriation made to the Judicial Department by section 1 (2), chapter 380, Oregon Laws 2023, for the biennium ending June 30, 2025, for operations, is increased by \$1,331,184, for the purpose of carrying out the amendments to ORS 3.012 by sections 1 and 2 of this 2024 Act.

SECTION 6. This 2024 Act takes effect on July 1, 2024.

Passed by Senate March 6, 2024	Received by Governor:
Obadiah Rutledge, Secretary of Senate	Approved:
Rob Wagner, President of Senate	
Passed by House March 7, 2024	Tina Kotek, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Dan Rayfield, Speaker of House	
	LaVonne Griffin-Valade, Secretary of State

Enrolled Senate Bill 1541 (SB 1541-A)