Enrolled House Bill 4001

Sponsored by Representatives RAYFIELD, KROPF, Senator LIEBER, Representative VALDERRAMA, Senator WAGNER; Representatives ANDERSEN, BYNUM, CONRAD, EVANS, FAHEY, GOODWIN, GRAYBER, HIEB, HOLVEY, HUDSON, LEVY E, LEWIS, MANNIX, NOSSE, PHAM K, REYNOLDS, SANCHEZ, Senators KNOPP, PATTERSON (Presession filed.)

CHAPTER	

AN ACT

Relating to specialty courts; and declaring an emergency.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. (1) The Task Force on Specialty Courts is established.

- (2) The task force consists of 19 members appointed as follows:
- (a) The President of the Senate shall appoint five members as follows:
- (A) Two members who are district attorneys, or the designees of district attorneys.
- (B) Two members who are behavioral health providers.
- (C) One member representing veterans.
- (b) The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint six members as follows:
- (A) Two members who are employed as public defenders.
- (B) One member representing the Oregon Youth Authority.
- (C) Two members representing county governing bodies, one from a county with a population of over 300,000, and one from a county with a population of less than 50,000.
 - (D) One member representing the Department of Human Services.
 - (c) The Governor shall appoint four members as follows:
 - (A) One member representing the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission.
- (B) One member representing either the Oregon Health Authority or a coordinated care organization representing a payer.
 - (C) One member who is a community corrections director.
 - (D) One member who is a law enforcement officer.
 - (d) The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall appoint four members as follows:
 - (A) Three members representing the Judicial Department.
- (B) One member representing a housing or other social services provider that has partnered with a drug court.
 - (3) The task force shall study the following issues concerning specialty courts:
- (a) Identification of the most appropriate funding mechanism to ensure long-term stability of specialty courts within this state.
- (b) Determining the administrative and funding balance between the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission and the Judicial Department.

- (c) Determining whether specialty courts currently use the right eligibility metrics, including whether current metrics are accurately capturing those individuals who would benefit from a drug court program.
- (d) Identification of the appropriate accountability mechanism to ensure that specialty courts are operating according to the standards of the commission.
- (4) A majority of the members of the task force constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.
- (5) Official action by the task force requires the approval of a majority of the members of the task force.
 - (6) The task force shall elect one of its members to serve as chairperson.
- (7) If there is a vacancy for any cause, the appointing authority shall make an appointment to become immediately effective.
- (8) The task force shall meet at times and places specified by the call of the chairperson or of a majority of the members of the task force.
 - (9) The task force may adopt rules necessary for the operation of the task force.
- (10) No later than November 15, 2024, the task force shall submit a report on its findings and recommendations, which may include recommendations for legislation, in the manner provided by ORS 192.245, to the interim committees of the Legislative Assembly related to the judiciary.
- (11) The Legislative Policy and Research Director shall provide staff support to the task force.
- (12) Members of the task force are not entitled to compensation or reimbursement for expenses and serve as volunteers on the task force.
- (13) All agencies of state government, as defined in ORS 174.111, are directed to assist the task force in the performance of the duties of the task force and, to the extent permitted by laws relating to confidentiality, to furnish information and advice the members of the task force consider necessary to perform their duties.

SECTION 2. Section 1 of this 2024 Act is repealed on December 31, 2024.

SECTION 3. This 2024 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2024 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by House February 29, 2024	Received by Governor:
	, 202-
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
	, 2024
Dan Rayfield, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate March 5, 2024	Tina Kotek, Governo
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Rob Wagner, President of Senate	, 2024
	LaVonne Griffin-Valade, Secretary of State