

Open Government Impact Statement

Measure: HB 4103 - A

82nd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2024 Regular Session

Only impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Prepared by: Dexter A. Johnson Date: 2/27/2024

SUMMARY

Digest: The Act modifies the definition of e-bikes and adds definitions for Class 1, Class 2 and Class 3 e-bikes. (Flesch Readability Score: 78.2).

<i>Digest: The Act states that kids under 16 years of age may ride Class 1 e-bikes. The Act also states that only those 16 years of age and older may operate Class 2 and Class 3 e-bikes. The Act creates the offense of unsafe e-bike riding. If a person violates the law, the person could face a fine of up to \$100. (Flesch Readability Score: 73.4).</i>

Modifies the definition of electric assisted bicycle for purposes of the Oregon Vehicle Code. Adds definitions of Class 1, Class 2 and Class 3 electric assisted bicycles.

<i>Provides that children under 16 years of age may operate Class 1 electric assisted bicycles and provides that only persons 16 years of age and older may operate Class 2 and Class 3 electric assisted bicycles.</i>

<i>Creates the offense of unsafe electric assisted bicycle riding. Punishes by maximum fine of \$100.</i>).

NOTICE OF <u>NO OPEN GOVERNMENT IMPACT</u>