

Open Government Impact Statement

82nd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2024 Regular Session

Measure: HB 4135

Only impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Prepared by: Dexter A. Johnson Date: 2/1/2024

SUMMARY

Digest: The Act creates the crime of threatening a mass injury event and directs the CJC to report certain data to the legislature about the new crime. The Act prohibits the possession of a gun by a person convicted of the new crime. The Act takes effect on the 91st day after sine die. (Flesch Readability Score: 66.3).

Creates the crime of threatening a mass injury event. Punishes by a maximum of 364 days' imprisonment, \$6,250 fine, or both, upon the first offense, and five years' imprisonment, \$125,000 fine, or both, upon second and subsequent offenses.

Prohibits the possession of a firearm by a person convicted of threatening a mass injury event. Punishes by a maximum of 364 days' imprisonment, \$6,250 fine, or both.

Provides that threatening a mass injury event constituting a misdemeanor is treated as a felony for purposes of supervision duties and funding.

Directs Oregon Criminal Justice Commission to report to the legislative assembly concerning specified data related to threatening a mass injury event charges.

Takes effect on the 91st day following adjournment sine die.

NOTICE OF NO OPEN GOVERNMENT IMPACT