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Same as -1s (except as noted)

• Change to the definition of “delivery” to include attempted 
transfers (State v. Boyd meaning)

• Enhanced crime category for delivery that occurs near 
treatment facilities, temporary residence shelters and public 
parks (note: now within 30 feet of park)

• Reevaluation of release guidelines by Chief Justice for 
delivery and manufacture offenses
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Same as -1s (except as noted)

• Expansion of welfare holds under ORS 430.399 from 48 
hours to 72 hours

• Data tracking and reporting on possession and delivery 
offenses by the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission

• Class E violation provisions repealed (note: now operative 
September 1, 2024)
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Changes: Deflection
• Law enforcement agencies are encouraged to refer people to 
deflection programs; district attorneys are encouraged to divert

• Oregon Criminal Justice Commission will establish a deflection 
program data tracking system

• 12 months after effective date, CJC will conduct a study to 
determine best practices for programs

• 18 months after effective date, CJC will develop standards and best 
practices for programs
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Changes: Possession
Current Class E violations becoming unclassified drug 
enforcement misdemeanors beginning September 1, 2024:

• Possession of less than 40 pills, tablets, capsules or user units of hydrocodone, 
methadone or oxycodone

• Possession of less than 1 gram of heroin 

• Possession of less than 1 gram, or less than 5 user units, of fentanyl

• Possession of less than 1 gram, or less than 5 pills, tablets or capsules, of MDMA

• Possession of less than 2 grams of cocaine or methamphetamine

• Possession of any amount of another controlled substance in Schedule I, II, III or 
IV (other than a commercial drug offense)
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Possession Sentencing
Drug enforcement misdemeanor sentencing:

• 18 months of probation with no upfront jail OR 180 days straight time if 
the defendant requests and court agrees

• 30 days’ jail for probation violation sanctions; 180 days upon revocation

•If revoked, early release to treatment; county community corrections 
agency monitors treatment availability; defendant must execute a release 
agreement and abide by conditions set by the agency

• No fines or fees
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Possession Probation
As in the -1 amendment provisions (for Class C misdemeanors):

• Drug enforcement misdemeanor possession included in the 
definition of “designated drug-related misdemeanor” 

• Supervision duty: county community corrections agencies (except 
the two counties in which DOC operates community corrections)

• Drug enforcement misdemeanor probationers will be included in 
current service level calculation for funding

7



Conditional Discharge
Same as in the -1s: pre-plea probation of 12 months; upon successful 
completion of probation, the court dismisses the charge. 

Changes: 

• In the -1s, defendants were automatically eligible; in the -24s, 
eligibility is presumed but the district attorney may object

• Clarifies what happens to other charges (they are not deferred and 
proceed in the normal course)

• Provides that a person may be sanctioned up to 30 days in jail while 
on conditional discharge probation
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Expungement
Sealing of citation, court records and other records for new drug 
enforcement misdemeanors:

• Completed deflection program: within 60 days of receiving verification

• Two years after citation with no further action: within 60 days

• Successful completion of probation (includes conditional discharge): 
within 90 days

• Any other drug enforcement possession conviction or dismissal: 3 years 
after conviction
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Grant Program Changes
Oregon Behavioral Health Deflection Program

• Applicants: a county or a designee of a county, or a tribal 
government or designee of a tribal government

• Before applying, applicant must coordinate with all program 
partners, which must include a law enforcement agency, district 
attorney, community mental health program (CMHP) and Behavioral 
Health Resource Network

• Coordinated by or in consultation with CMHP, local mental health 
authority or tribal government
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New Provisions

Oregon Jail-Based Medications for Opioid Use Disorder 
Grant Program

• Provisions come from HB 4120

• Administered by Oregon Criminal Justice Commission

• Applicants: local governments and federally recognized 
tribes that operate local/tribal correctional facilities

• Funding for treatment, screenings, transition planning
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Questions?

❖ jessica.minifie@oregonlegislature.gov

❖ 503-986-1243

❖ Legislative Counsel office: S-101, first floor of Senate wing
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