## SB 1548 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# Senate Committee On Veterans, Emergency Management, Federal and World Affairs

**Prepared By:** Whitney Perez, LPRO Analyst

**Meeting Dates:** 2/6, 2/13, 2/15

### WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure abolishes the annual one-hour change in time from standard time to daylight saving time and maintains standard time for all 12 months of the calendar year for the portion of Oregon that is located in the Pacific Time Zone.

# **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

## **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

### **BACKGROUND:**

Daylight savings time is the practice of setting the clock one hour forward for 34 weeks of the year, allowing for more daylight in the evening hours. The United States used daylight saving time at times during World War I and World Ware II, with some state and local governments persisting in the practice. The Uniform Time Act of 1966 standardized the practice nationwide, and allowed states to exempt themselves. Hawaii and Arizona, with the exception of the Navajo Nation, do not observe daylight saving time.

In 2019, the Legislative Assembly enacted Senate Bill 320. SB 320 maintained Oregon on daylight saving time except for the portion of Oregon in the Mountain Time Zone. However, SB 320 specified that it would only become operative after similar 12 month daylight saving time legislation was operative in California and Washington. Other provisions of SB 320 specified that if this did not occur by December 1, 2029, Oregon would continue the current practice of having a one-hour time change. To date, SB 320 has not become operative for requiring the portion of Oregon located within the Pacific Time Zone to be maintained permanently on daylight saving time.

SB 1548 maintains, for the portion of Oregon that is located in the Pacific Time Zone, standard time for all 12 months of the calendar year.