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Delivery: Definition
Change to ORS 475.005 (8) in the proposed amendment:

“Deliver” or “delivery” means the actual, 
constructive or attempted transfer of, or possession 
with the intent to transfer, other than by 
administering or dispensing, from one person to 
another, [of] a controlled substance.
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Delivery: Sentencing
Amendment: enhanced crime category for delivery of heroin, 
cocaine, fentanyl, methamphetamine or MDMA when:

• The defendant knows, or reasonably should have known, the 
delivery is occurring within 500 feet of a treatment facility

• The defendant knows, or reasonably should have known, the 
delivery is occurring within 500 feet of a temporary residence shelter

• The delivery occurs within a public park

“Treatment facility,” “temporary residence shelter” and “public park” are defined terms
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Delivery: Sentencing
Current crime category:

• Crime category 6: delivery of 
heroin, cocaine, fentanyl, 
methamphetamine or MDMA 
for consideration

• Crime category 4 otherwise

New crime category:

• Crime category 7: delivery of 
heroin, cocaine, fentanyl, 
methamphetamine or MDMA 
for consideration

• Crime category 5 otherwise
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Delivery: Sentencing
The Oregon 
Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid 

(for comparison of 
presumptive sentences 
for different crime 
category levels)
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Delivery: Pre-Trial Release
Reevaluation of release guidelines:

• Under ORS 135.233, the Chief Justice establishes pretrial release 
guidelines, and the presiding judge of each judicial district enters a 
standing pretrial release order based on those guidelines

• The amendment directs the Chief Justice to reevaluate and update 
the release guidelines for delivery and manufacture of a controlled 
substance charges

• Must be done by no later than June 1, 2024
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Possession: Offense Level
Currently the following are Class E violations and, under the 
amendment, would become Class C misdemeanors:

• Possession of less than 40 pills, tablets, capsules or user units of     
hydrocodone, methadone or oxycodone

• Possession of less than 1 gram of heroin 

• Possession of less than 1 gram, or less than 5 user units, of fentanyl

• Possession of less than 1 gram, or less than 5 pills, tablets or capsules, of 
MDMA

• Possession of less than 2 grams of cocaine or methamphetamine

• Possession of any amount of another controlled substance in Schedule I, II, III or 
IV (other than a commercial drug offense)
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Possession: New Defense
• New affirmative defense to possession of a controlled substance constituting a 
Class C misdemeanor:

• The person completed a qualified deflection program to which the person was 
referred when contacted by a police officer concerning the alleged possession 
or

• The person was not referred to a qualified deflection program when contacted 
by a police officer concerning the alleged possession

• Only can assert non-referral defense if no other possible charges when contacted

• Notice requirement: 21 days before trial

• “Completion” and “qualified deflection program” are defined terms
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Possession: New Defense
Oregon Criminal Justice Commission will certify deflection programs 
that qualify for the defense (“qualified deflection program”); list will be 
published on commission website. Requirements include:

• Coordination by a Community Mental Health Program or local 
mental health authority 

• Contact within the referred person within 30 days

• Provide, at no cost, at least a screening and one additional contact 

• Partnerships with Behavioral Health Resource Networks and law 
enforcement agencies
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Possession: New Defense
• “Deflection program” defined broadly as a collaborative 
program between law enforcement agencies and behavioral 
health entities 

• Under ORS 161.055, for affirmative defenses, the defendant 
has the burden of proving the defense by a preponderance of 
the evidence

• Self-authentication of completion document for purposes of 
the Oregon Evidence Code
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Possession: Sentencing
Maximum penalties for misdemeanors:

Class A: 364 days (jail), $6,250 fine

Class B: 6 months, $2,500 fine

Class C: 30 days, $1,250 fine

New to the amendment: upon conviction of Class C misdemeanor 
possession, the court cannot include in the judgment a requirement that 
the person pay a fine, cost, assessment or attorney fee

Purpose: facilitate the sealing of records (expungement)
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Possession: Probation
• Class C misdemeanor possession included in the definition of 
“designated drug-related misdemeanor” 

• Supervision duty: county community corrections agencies (except 
the two counties in which DOC operates community corrections)

• Probation supervision for Class C misdemeanor possession will be 
similar to that for felonies and some Class A misdemeanors

• Class C misdemeanor probationers will be included in current 
service level calculation for funding
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Possession: Probation
New type of pre-plea probation (conditional discharge) for 
people charged with Class C misdemeanor possession:

• Eligibility is automatic, no approval from court or DA required

• Pre-plea probation agreement: 12 months with general 
conditions, plus evaluation and any recommended treatment

• Upon successful completion of probation, the court dismisses 
the charge
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Possession: Expungement
Sealing of records at various stages of Class C misdemeanor 
possession proceedings:

• Completed deflection program: within 60 days of verification

• Two years after cite/conduct with no further action: within 60 days

• Pre-plea probation/conditional discharge: upon dismissal of charge

•Any other Class C misdemeanor possession conviction: 3 years 
after conviction
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Possession: Expungement
Other new provisions related to expungement:

• Class C misdemeanor convictions won’t prevent expungement of 
other charges

• Prohibition on ordering a defendant charged only with Class C 
misdemeanor possession to pay for financial eligibility assessment or 
court-appointed attorney costs

• Probation term for Class C misdemeanor possession limited to 3 
years
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Data Tracking

• The amendment directs the Oregon Criminal Justice 
Commission to annually report to the interim House and 
Senate Judiciary Committees concerning deflections, arrests 
and prosecutions for possession and delivery of a controlled 
substance

• Purpose: to track racial or other demographic disparities

• Reports begin no later than August 31, 2025
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New Grant Program

Oregon Behavioral Health Deflection Program

• Funding deflection programs only

• Requirements for grant mirror requirements for defense 
certification

• Applicants: Community Mental Health Programs, local 
mental health authorities and tribal governments
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Welfare Hold Expansion

ORS 430.399 allows a police officer to take a person to 
a treatment facility if the person is intoxicated or under the 
influence of controlled substances.

When the person is taken to the treatment facility, the 
director of the facility must determine whether the person 
should be admitted.  
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Welfare Hold Expansion
A person must be admitted if:

• The person is incapacitated;

• The health of the person appears to be in imminent danger; or

• The director of the facility has reasonable cause to believe the person is 
dangerous to self or to any other person.

Amends ORS 430.399 (2) to provide that once admitted:

“The person shall be discharged within [48] 72 hours unless the person has 
applied for voluntary admission to the treatment facility.”
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Questions?

❖ jessica.minifie@oregonlegislature.gov

❖ 503-986-1243

❖ Legislative Counsel office: S-101, first floor of Senate wing
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