Submitter:	Jack Whelchel
On Behalf Of:	
Committee:	Senate Committee On Judiciary
Measure:	SB348

been shown to be associated with suicide.

Measure 114 and SB 348 claim to outline procedures to reduce gun violence, to ensure a background check is completed on all firearms transfers, and to create a database to gather statistics regarding total permit applicants/approved applicants/denied applicants.

Many studies have concluded roughly 52% of suicides nationwide are carried out with firearms. If all firearms magically disappeared, would suicides cease to exist, as well? Or, would these individuals, requiring professional intervention find other means. Would the second and third leading causes of suicide, suffocation at 23% and poisoning at 18%, shift to the number one cause of suicides? Meanwhile, the underlying condition remains untreated. This comes from Marlene Stenbacka,Department of Clinical Neuroscience, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden. "Having a disadvantaged background including low socio-economic status, parental psychiatric problems, i.e., high rates of depression and substance use, has

Current law (Brady Handgun Violence Reduction Act) requires a background check be conducted for all firearm transfers. A provision of the Brady Handgun Violence Reduction Act is the FFL holder may transfer the firearm after three days. Emphasis on "may". Most FFL holders will not transfer a firearm after the three days because a background check will still be conducted and should the check come back "denied", the FFL holder will have to get Law Enforcement authorities involved and risks having the FFL revoked. Unfortunately, due to Measure 114, smaller firearms dealers fear they will go out of business and are more willing to risk transferring firearms after the three days. Granted, most will only transfer the firearm to holders of a concealed handgun license, they still incur a risk.

As for gathering statistical data, this can already be accomplished. Each firearm transfer requires an ATF Form 4473 be completed. This form determines whether or not the applicant even makes it to a background check (based on their responses). If the applicant does make it to a background check, Oregon State Police, who conducts the background checks, can provide the number of applicants in a year, how many were denied, and even how many were delayed until further information could be obtained prior to a final disposition. This is a matter of utilizing tools already at your disposal.

SB 348 is an infringement on an individual's Second Amendment right and in some cases, denying it outright. SB 348 increases the permit fee to \$150 from \$65. There is no mention of fees for the required firearms training. Currently, NRA basic pistol training costs \$250. For conducting a background check, Oregon State Police charges FFL holders \$10 which is handed down to the applicant. Once the applicant completes all of the requirements and paid all fees, a permit is issued. The permit

allows the applicant to now purchase a firearm. Once the holder of the permit selects a firearm to be purchased, a second screening of the applicant is conducted through the ATF Form 4473. Then, a second background check (required for the ATF Form 4473) is conducted and a second \$10 fee is levied. The average price for a handgun is \$600. The total cost is, conservatively estimated at over \$1000. In light of the climbing crime rates in our metropolitan areas, families just trying to make ends meet will not be able to defend themselves and exercise their Second Amendment right unless they pay for that right. How egregious would it be to apply a training and permit process to the First Amendment? If the Second Amendment can be voted away under the guise of public safety today, who is to say the First Amendment will not be voted away tomorrow under the same claim?