Submitter: Natalie Daily

On Behalf Of:

Committee: House Committee On Judiciary

Measure: HB2006

Chairman Kropf and other members of the House Committee on Judiciary,

I was alarmed to learn that under current Oregon law, individuals aged 18-to-20 years old cannot legally purchase a handgun but CAN legally purchase an assault weapon and other semiautomatic rifles. This feels backwards and reflective of the fact that our legislation, in general, has not kept up to speed with the dangerous development of firearm technology. But this doesn't have to continue to be the case for Oregonians. In fact, seven other states have already passed similar legislation, raising the minimum purchase age to 21. Research shows that 18-to-20 year olds commit gun homicides at 3x the rate of adults over 21, and in fact the perpetrators at the Safeway in Bend, elementary school in Uvalde, TX, and grocery store in Buffalo, NY were all under 21 and they all used semi-automatic rifles.

I long to see Oregon continue to be a leader in gun violence prevention legislation because all Oregonians deserve to feel safe - my children, my students, my neighbors, and my friends.

I encourage the swift passage of this legislation as a necessary step in a future free from gun violence.

Thank you,

Natalie Daily