Submitter: Mrs Francis

On Behalf Of:

Committee: Senate Committee On Housing and Development

Measure: SB611

Once again, you have tipped the scales to favor the Tenant and not the small Landlord who counts on rental income from a couple of rentals to fund their retirement. It needs to be set up, so that it is equal for both Tenant and Landlord to have rental housing available and still be able to live off the rental income. It is our small business, we are not the Government, nor are we a charity. SB608 made it hard enough. It is already impossible to get rid of bad renters who are damaging our rentals or not paying rent, costing us thousands of dollars that we do not have. Or be able to update and repair older rentals, when we are ready and able to do so without having to worry about paying for the tenant's move, or lawyers standing by ready to sue us.

Bend has a huge lack of affordable rental housing, one of the main reasons being that landlords got fed up with the rent control and didn't want the extra expense of dealing with it, so decided to sell, or turn it into a short term rental as none of the Rental Controls Rules apply. Do you not understand that these laws have single handedly shortened the number of rentals here drastically. We have been Mom and Pop Landlords for almost 20 years in, Oregon. The homes were located near down town and our tenants were able to walk or bike to work at the shops, pubs and coffee shops where they worked, all within a mile or two. We would raise the rent when they left or moved out and then changed it to market rent at that time. Now that you have made it so difficult for us, we have decided to sell our rentals, one every couple of years, until they are gone. It is scary being a Landlord in Oregon now. We were all doing fine before you had to interfere with how we wanted to spend our retirement. Our options for rental housing don't work any longer. And now you want us to pay even more to move tenants out of our property. Who may I ask is benefitting from this new law, the lawyers?

An example: A rental, which was filthy and had a lot of damage, after tenants had lived there for several years.

The owner got a job out of State and wanted to sell. The tenants said that they knew the Oregon Landlord Tenant law and would get a lawyer and sue the owner, if he didn't pay \$4000 for them to move on, even although they had trashed the place. So the scared and young owner paid them the \$4,000 and then had to pay another \$15,000 to get it back in decent shape and cleaned professionally 3 times before it could be put on the market. These are some of the tenants of whom you are protecting, obviously a lack of knowledge on your behalf isn't helping our cause. It is not all one sided, and shouldn't be. We will be selling a second rental soon rather than have to pay out thousands that we don't have for tenant moving costs.