To Whom it may Concern,

I am opposing SB 611 in its entirety on behalf of myself and my clients of the 950 properties we represent in central Oregon. This bill imposes unjust fees for landlords and the inability to maintain a property and income in the raising economy.

- (d) The landlord has:
- (A) Accepted an offer to purchase the dwelling unit separately from any other dwelling unit from a person who intends in good faith to occupy the dwelling unit as the person's primary residence; and
- (B) Provided the notice and written evidence of the offer to purchase the dwelling unit, to the tenant not more than 120 days after accepting the offer to purchase.
- (6)(a) A landlord that terminates a tenancy under subsection
- (5) of this section shall:
- (A) Specify in the termination notice the reason for the termination and supporting facts;
- (B) State that the rental agreement will terminate upon a designated date not less than 90 days after delivery of the notice; and
- (C) At the time the landlord delivers the tenant the notice to terminate the tenancy, pay the tenant an amount equal to [one month's] **three months'** periodic rent. (b) The requirements of paragraph
- (a)(C) of this subsection do not apply to a landlord who has [2] SB 611 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 an ownership interest in four or fewer residential dwelling units subject to this chapter.

To require a landlord to pay 3 months rent so they can sell or move into their own home is outrageous. The requirement of paying one months rent was bad enough and caused several of our clients to sell their rental properties and get out of the rent business altogether. Now adding 2 additional months of rent will cause even a great loss of rental properties the private landlord will sell and reduce the inventory even more.

Rent control; Oregon has already imposed rent control of 7% plus the cost of living. This has been averaging around 9%. Most of the owners we manage for do not even get to this amount now. By imposing more restriction will cause more landlords issue the max allowable increases ever year just to insure they do not fall behind with the raising cost of living.

Exemption to rent control 15 years or newer. The proposed change from 15 years to 3 years or new is not acceptable. I do think that 15 years or new is to long. I would agree with 10 years of newer.

Section 8: This 2023 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2023 Act takes effect on its passage.

The housing emergency as stated above would not be an emergency if the Oregon legislature would stop intervening in landlord tenant relations. The more you impose restriction the less properties will be available to be rented because private landlord will continue to sell their properties in Oregon and move their investments out of Oregon. This creates a greater shortage of properties available and a greater burden of tenants. Investors and state programs will not be able to keep up with the loss of housing needs if Oregon continues to drive private landlord out of business.

Т	ha	nk	yo	11
	ıш	111/	v	u,

Matt Free