Submitter: Linda Smith

On Behalf Of:

Committee: House Committee On Judiciary

Measure: HB2006

The minimum age to buy a handgun from a federally licensed dealer is 21. But Oregon law allows 18-20 year-olds to buy semiautomatic firearms! Raising the age at which a person may purchase firearms is a common sense public safety measure. Research shows that individuals 18 to 20 years old commit gun homicides at a rate nearly 3 times greater than adults 21 and older. Assault weapons are used in mass shootings, including school shootings. The Uvalde shooter purchased two assault rifles shortly after his 18th birthday. More than 20 states have raised the age to purchase some firearms. Oregon must join them and pass this critical public safety measure.