OACCD

OACCD Executive Board Members

Aaron Hartman OACCD President Klamath County Community Corrections

Nate Gaoiran OACCD Vice-President Josephine County Community Corrections

> Jessica Beach OACCD Secretary Yamhill County Community Justice

> Dale Primmer OACCD Treasurer Umatilla County Community Justice

Eric Guyer OACCD Past President Jackson County Community Justice

Committed To, And Value, Offender Reformation, Services to Victims, Crime Prevention, And Community Restoration

www.oaccd.net

## OACCD Supports SB 581 A

## Earned Discharge continues its record of success.

Since the inception of the Earned Discharge program (EDIS) in August of 2013 the success rate for this incentive program is outpacing the expectations. Effective evidenced based case planning has proven to be a key component of this program to motivate Adults on Supervision (AOS) to comply with supervision and successfully complete their sentences by as much as fifty percent sooner than without it.

OACCD continues to work along side the Department of Corrections, community members, advocacy groups and other criminal justice service agencies to make improvements. SB 581 will expand eligibility to adults on post-prison supervision and enhance positive communication on the Justice Involved Individual's progress in the program.

## 91% Success Rate

Of the 8898 AOS's have discharged using this program, 8101 have not returned with a new conviction resulting in incarceration or supervision. A total of 623 returned to the system sentenced to probation and 174 returned to some form of custody. OACCD is committed to Earned Discharge and we believe the improvements contained in SB 581 only make this program stronger. Supporting this bill will contribute to the success of AOS's taking advantage of this incentive to complete their period of supervision in a positive way.

3203 Vandenburg Rd. Klamath Falls, Oregon (541) 880-5500 Aaron Hartman ahartman@co.klamath.or.us