Submitter: Ken Thompson

On Behalf Of:

Committee: Joint Committee On Transportation

Measure: HB3248

I, like all others testifying on HB 3248 think that this bill should be passed. As life long ATV enthusiasts, we have been on ATV's since the 70's, and we have experienced all of the things others testified to in the meeting on 3-9-23. Because of Oregon's restrictions, we usually go to other states including Idaho, and more often Utah. As said, those states both allow UTV's on everything except interstates. I would suggest looking at their laws for on road UTV usage as a model. Utah allows UTV's on everything except interstates, require licenses, turn signals, headlights, tail lights, horn, seat belts, but don't require helmets for people over 18 yrs. old. Where speed limits are 0ver 50 mph, UTV's are required to stay on the right side of the road, and under 50 mph. We frequently go to Hurricane in southern Utah. The population is over 20k and with the year round utv riding, there's probably an additional 10k in town at any given time. We have never seen any issues with UTV's co-existing on the city streets. We act like, and get treated like cars. It works great. They don't allow them in large metropolitan areas, like Salt Lake, or Provo, but that seems acceptable. I wouldn't want them in Portland metro area either. Since other states allow and license UTV's, Oregon should honor their licensed UTV's as well.

Thank You

Ken Thompson