Submitter: Corey Jeppesen

On Behalf

Of:

Committee: Joint Committee On Ways and Means Subcommittee On Human

Services

Measure: HB5026

Sen. WInsvey Campos, Co-ChairRep. Andrea Valderrama, Co-Chair, and Members of the Joint Committee on Ways and Means Subcommittee on Human Services

Support for HB 5026 – DHS Budget and Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities

March 2, 2023

Co-Chair Campos and Valderrama,

I write to offer my support for a fully funded I/DD budget. In 2021, the Legislature made historic investments in services to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD). For the first time, the I/DD system was fully funded. Even though this investment allowed us to increase wages for DSPs by \$1.25 an hour (the current average reimbursement wage for DSPs sits at \$17.81), we still struggle with staff shortages. We must continue to move the Direct Support Professional (DSP) workforce out of crisis.

Additional increases in wages are needed to address the current workforce shortage. You've heard Anna Lansky, ODDS Interim Director, testify to the need for higher DSP wages. Just today, ODDS also published the Oregon Direct Support Professional Workforce Stability Report for 2022, which further emphasizes this point. Please protect your investment and continue fully funding I/DD rates while prioritizing DSPs!

I specifically urge you to support:

ODDS' POP 132 — TARGETED RATE INCREASE ESTIMATED TO COST \$162 MILLION

Includes wage inflation and rate increases that bring DSP wages in payment category 1 to \$19.36, payment category 2 to \$20.38, and to \$22.42 in payment category 4 in the first year of the biennium. Increases the health insurance assumption to \$628.45 (currently \$525) per employee per month and adds the 0.4% employer Paid Leave Oregon payroll tax pick-up.

HB 2457 — 150% OF MINIMUM WAGE + 1% PAID LEAVE OREGON PICK-UP ESTIMATED TO COST \$116.9 MILLION

This bill will make further investments into DSP wages – because DSP work is not minimum wage work! HB 2457 statutorily sets DSP wages across the state at 150%

of the metro minimum wage and includes the full 1% Paid Leave Oregon pick-up (.4% Employer + .6% Employee pick-up).

Please value the work and raise the wage!

Respectfully,

Corey Jeppesen