Submitter: Donna Bleiler

On Behalf Of:

Committee: House Committee On Rules

Measure: HJR4

I STRONGLY OPPOSE HJR 4

The amendment removes the requirement to be registered 20 days prior to an election, and adds, "Registers to vote not later than 8 p.m. on the date of the election in the manner provided by law."

Polls close at 8 p.m. so the effect is a person can register and vote at the same time. There are requirements to register, which assumes there is some form of checking that the requirements are met.

If a person is allowed to register at the same time as voting, there is no verification process because once the person votes, that ballot is cast in stone and never retrieved if the registrant turns out to not qualify. To qualify, a person must have documentation that proves:

U.S. citizenship
Oregon resident
At least 16 years old, but can't vote until 18
Oregon driver's license, permit or ID card or signed verification.

Voters know that government moves slow and there is no way this will guard our elections against fraudulent votes. It is your job to protect our voting system, not push it off on the voters.