HB 2049-2 (LC 966) 2/24/23 (CPA/ps)

Requested by JOINT COMMITTEE ON INFORMATION MANAGEMENT AND TECHNOLOGY (at the request of Representative Nancy Nathanson, Senator Aaron Woods)

## PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL 2049

On page 2 of the printed bill, line 11, after "of" delete the rest of the line and delete lines 12 through 36 and insert "21 members appointed as follows: "(a) The Governor, after consultation with the State Chief Information Officer and the director of the Oregon Cybersecurity Center of Excellence or the director's designee, shall appoint 15 voting members.

6 "(b) The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint one non-7 voting member who is a member of the House of Representatives.

"(c) The President of the Senate shall appoint one nonvoting member who
is a member of the Senate.

"(d) The Secretary of State shall appoint one ex officio, nonvoting member
to represent the Secretary of State.

"(e) The State Treasurer shall appoint one ex officio, nonvoting member
to represent the State Treasurer.

"(f) The Attorney General shall appoint one ex officio, nonvoting member
to represent the Attorney General.

"(g) The Director of the Oregon Department of Emergency Management
 shall appoint one ex officio, nonvoting member to represent the Oregon De partment of Emergency Management.

19 "(2)(a) The voting members of the council shall consist of:

20 "(A) One member who represents Indian tribes, as defined in ORS 97.740;

21 "(B) One member who represents the Association of Oregon Counties;

1 "(C) One member who represents the League of Oregon Cities;

2 "(D) One member who represents the Special Districts Association of 3 Oregon;

4 "(E) One member who represents regional governments;

5 "(F) One member who represents the Oregon Association of Education
6 Service Districts;

7 "(G) One member who represents the Oregon School Boards Association;

8 "(H) One member who represents the Coalition of Oregon School Admin9 istrators;

"(I) One member who represents public universities listed in ORS 352.002;
 "(J) One member who represents community colleges;

"(K) One member who represents the office of Enterprise InformationServices;

"(L) One member who represents a critical infrastructure sector in
 Oregon as defined by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency
 of the United States Department of Homeland Security;

17 "(M) One member who represents cyber-related industries in Oregon;

"(N) One member who represents a public sector information technologyassociation in Oregon; and

"(O) One member who represents a private sector information technology
 or telecommunications association in Oregon.

"(b) A majority of the council's voting members must be geographically diverse representatives of public universities listed in ORS 352.002, local governments, regional governments, special districts, education service districts, school districts or libraries.".

In line 37, before "member" insert "voting".

In line 38, before "member" insert "voting".

28 On page 3, after line 7, insert:

"(6) The nonvoting legislative members of the council shall serve two-year
 terms and are eligible for reappointment.".

- In line 8, delete "(6)" and insert "(7)".
- In line 10, delete "(7)" and insert "(8)" and after "council" insert "who are not members of the Legislative Assembly".

In line 11, after "council" insert "who is not a member of the LegislativeAssembly".

6 After line 14, insert:

"(9) Members of the council who are members of the Legislative Assembly
are entitled to compensation and expense reimbursement as provided in ORS
171.072.".

10 In line 15, delete "(8)" and insert "(10)".

In line 19, after "Appoint" insert "additional".

12 In line 20, delete "(9)" and insert "(11)".

13 In line 25, before "members" insert "voting".

- 14 In line 29, after "remaining" insert "voting".
- On page 6, line 21, after "(8)" insert "(a)" and delete ", as defined in ORS 174.111,".

17 After line 24, insert:

18 "(b) As used in this subsection, 'state government' has the meaning given

19 that term in ORS 174.111, except that 'state government' does not include the

20 Secretary of State or State Treasurer.".

21