## Enrolled

## **Senate Concurrent Resolution 1**

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Secretary of State Shemia Fagan)

Whereas the 2020 and 2022 election cycles were the most challenging in recent memory, with a global pandemic and multiple natural disasters affecting numerous states and their election infrastructure and processes; and

Whereas election workers across the country and in the State of Oregon worked tirelessly under difficult conditions to ensure fair, safe and accurate elections for millions of voters in 2020 and 2022; and

Whereas based upon unrelenting false information from both domestic and foreign sources, extremists have taken to threatening and endangering election workers, including secretaries of state, state election directors and local election officials and workers; and

Whereas the cornerstone of our republic is the right of Americans to vote in a safe, secure and accurate election as well as their ability to exercise that right; and

Whereas election workers and administrators have a vital role in ensuring that all eligible Americans can exercise that right; and

Whereas violence and violent threats directed at local election administrators and county clerks and their families and staff, as well as other election workers, is abhorrent and is the antithesis of what our nation stands for; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-second Legislative Assembly, condemn, in the strongest possible terms, violence and threats of violence against election workers, and we call on all leaders to denounce these dangerous occurrences; and be it further

Resolved, That we applaud the Oregon Association of County Clerks and all election workers for their professionalism and dedication to upholding fair and safe elections.

Adopted by Senate February 20, 2023

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Rob Wagner, President of Senate

Adopted by House March 22, 2023

Dan Rayfield, Speaker of House

Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 1 (SCR 1-INTRO)