Enrolled Senate Bill 895

Sponsored by Senator PROZANSKI, Representative ANDERSEN (at the request of Richard Hughes, Doug Parrow)

CHAPTER	
---------	--

AN ACT

Relating to the offense of passing in a no passing zone; creating new provisions; amending ORS 811.420.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 811.420 is amended to read:

- 811.420. (1) A person commits the offense of passing in a no passing zone if the person drives a vehicle on the left side of a roadway in a no passing zone that has been established and designated to prohibit such movements by appropriate signs or markings posted on the roadway.
- (2) The authority to establish and post no passing zones for purposes of this section is established under ORS 810.120.
 - (3) The provisions of this section do not apply under any of the following circumstances:
 - (a) When a driver turns left into or from an alley, intersection, private road or driveway.
- (b) When an obstruction or condition exists making it necessary to drive to the left of the center of the roadway provided that a driver doing so shall:
- (A) Yield the right of way to all vehicles traveling in the proper direction upon the unobstructed portion of the roadway within a distance that would constitute an immediate hazard; and
- (B) Drive at a speed that is at least five miles per hour under the speed limit established in ORS 811.111 or a designated speed posted under ORS 810.180.
- (4) As used in this section, "obstruction" includes a person who is riding a bicycle or operating another type of vehicle and who is traveling at a speed of less than one-half of the speed limit established in ORS 811.111 or a designated speed posted under ORS 810.180.
- [(4)] (5) The offense described in this section, passing in a no passing zone, is a Class B traffic violation.

SECTION 2. The amendments to ORS 811.420 by section 1 of this 2023 Act apply to offenses committed on or after the effective date of this 2023 Act.

Passed by Senate April 4, 2023	Received by Governor:	
	, 2025	
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate	Approved:	
	, 2028	
Rob Wagner, President of Senate		
Passed by House May 25, 2023	Tina Kotek, Governor	
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:	
Dan Rayfield, Speaker of House	, 2028	
	Secretary of State	