Enrolled

House Joint Resolution 16

Sponsored by Representatives CATE, LEVY B, FAHEY, RESCHKE, Senators MEEK, SMITH DB; Representatives ANDERSEN, BOICE, BOSHART DAVIS, BOWMAN, BREESE-IVERSON, CRAMER, DEXTER, DIEHL, EVANS, GOMBERG, GOODWIN, GRAYBER, HELFRICH, HUDSON, KROPF, LEWIS, MCINTIRE, MCLAIN, MORGAN, NATHANSON, NERON, PHAM H, PHAM K, REYNOLDS, RUIZ, SCHARF, TRAN, WALTERS, Senator HAYDEN

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

<u>PARAGRAPH 1.</u> The Constitution of the State of Oregon is amended by creating a new section 34 to be added to and made a part of Article IV, such section to read:

SECTION 34. (1) The House of Representatives shall have the power of impeachment of statewide elected officials of the Executive Branch for malfeasance or corrupt conduct in office, willful neglect of statutory or constitutional duty or other felony or high crime. The House of Representatives may deliver a resolution of impeachment to the Senate only upon the concurrence of at least two-thirds of all Representatives.

(2) The Senate shall have the power to try any impeachment received from the House of Representatives. When sitting for the purpose of trying an impeachment, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall preside and Senators shall swear or affirm to do justice according to law and evidence. A person may not be convicted under this section without the concurrence of at least two-thirds of all Senators.

(3) Judgment shall extend only to removal from office and disqualification from holding any other public office in this state. Any person convicted or acquitted under this section remains subject to any criminal prosecution or civil liability according to law.

(4) Section 10a of this Article may be invoked for the purpose of exercising the power of impeachment under this section.

<u>PARAGRAPH 2.</u> The amendment proposed by this resolution shall be submitted to the people for their approval or rejection at the next regular general election held throughout this state.

Adopted by House June 22, 2023

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Dan Rayfield, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate June 25, 2023

Rob Wagner, President of Senate

Enrolled House Joint Resolution 16 (HJR 16-A)