## HB 2515 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **House Committee On Business and Labor**

**Action Date:** 04/04/23

**Action:** Without recommendation as to passage, with amendments, and be referred to Rules.

(Printed A-Eng.)

Vote: 11-0-0-0

Yeas: 11 - Boshart Davis, Elmer, Grayber, Holvey, Hudson, Nelson, Nosse, Osborne, Owens,

Scharf, Sosa

Fiscal: Has minimal fiscal impact
Revenue: Has minimal revenue impact
Prepared By: Erin Seiler, LPRO Analyst

**Meeting Dates:** 1/25, 3/22, 4/4

## WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Allows marijuana producer, marijuana wholesaler, marijuana processor, or marijuana retailer to use motion detection camera system at licensed premises. Creates "greenhouse" designation for producers' license. Authorizes Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) to adopt rules to allow marijuana licensee to use electronic technology to verify age. Authorizes OLCC to process applications and issue licenses based on a per-capita basis: for processor or wholesaler licenses there is not more than one active license per 12,500 residents in state who are 21 years of age or older and for production or retailer licenses there is not more than one active license per 7,500 residents in this state who are 21 years of age or older. Specifies exemptions to per-capita basis license issuance limits. Updates statutes to move from daily sales limits of packages to daily possession limits of THC. Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

# **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- Removing barriers to growth in cannabis industry
- Regulatory system that cannabis businesses operate within
- Cost of compliance with regulatory system
- Use of facial recognition technology for age verification
- Permitting motion-activated cameras at licensed premises
- Amendments

#### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

Replaces the measure.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

The Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) is the agency responsible for regulating the production, processing and sale of recreational marijuana in Oregon through the Control, Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act. OLCC also regulates the production, processing and sale of medical products sold to Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) cardholders in OLCC licensed marijuana retail shops.

The Recreational Marijuana Program is exclusively authorized to make recreational and medical grade marijuana available to consumers and licensed businesses through retail marijuana stores. The program also tracks the growing, transporting, processing and selling of recreational marijuana products. The Public Safety Program is responsible for licensing and regulating the operation of the recreational marijuana industry in Oregon.