Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Oregon State Senate DATE: April 18, 2023 BY: Leslie Porter, Analyst RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



OREGON PATIENT SAFETY COMMISSION BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Oregon Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors subject to Senate confirmation.¹

New Appointees

Hollie Caldwell of Portland Erin Sprando of West Linn

Reappointees

Lisa Bui of Oregon City

Terms

New Appointees: April 26, 2023 – July 1, 2026 Reappointee: October 1, 2022 – September 30, 2026

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 442.830 (2021)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Statutory Requirements³

The board consists of the State Public Health Officer or the officer's designee (SELOVER) and 16 members appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate.⁴ Appointed members must include:

- one faculty member of an Oregon university who is not involved in the direct delivery of health care (CALDWELL);
- two representatives of group purchasers of health care, one of whom shall be employed by a state or other governmental entity, and neither of whom may provide direct health care services or have an immediate family member who is involved in the delivery of health care (**BUI**, VACANT);

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2021).

² ORS 244.050 (2021).

³ <u>ORS 182.100 (2021)</u> for affirmative action policy and <u>ORS 236.115 (2021)</u> for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 442.830 (2021).

- two representatives of health care consumers, neither of whom may provide direct health care services or have an immediate family member who is involved in the delivery of health care (RUSSELL MORRIS, VACANT);
- two representatives of health insurers, including a representative of a domestic not-for-profit health care service contractor, a representative of a domestic insurance company licensed to transact health insurance, or a representative of a health maintenance organization (ENGRAV, MARVIN);
- one representative of a statewide or national labor organization (HURST);
- two licensed physicians who are in active practice (CHADAGA, DANNENHOFFER);
- two hospital administrators or their designees (MITCHELL, VACANT);
- one licensed pharmacist (HUFFT);
- one representative of an ambulatory surgical center or an outpatient renal dialysis facility (KETCHUM);
- one licensed nurse who is in active clinical practice (BEMETZ); and
- one licensed nursing home administrator or one nursing home director of nursing services (**SPRANDO**).

Members serve four-year terms, at the pleasure of the Governor, and are eligible for reappointment. The board must nominate candidates when a vacancy occurs or is announced and forward the recommended candidates to the Governor for consideration. The board must select from its members a chairperson and vice chairperson for the terms and with the duties and powers as the board considers necessary for performance of the functions of those offices. The board must adopt bylaws as necessary for the efficient and effective operation of the board. No voting member of the board may be an employee of the commission.

Duties and Authority

The Oregon Patient Safety Commission is a semi-independent state agency that improves patient safety by reducing the risk of serious adverse events occurring in Oregon's health care system and by encouraging a culture of patient safety in Oregon.⁵ The board exercises the power of, and provides governance to, the commission.⁶

⁶ ORS 442.831 (2019).



⁵ ORS 442.820 (2019).

The board must:7

- adopt rules necessary for the implementation of the Oregon Patient Safety Reporting Program, including but not limited to: developing a list of objective and definable serious adverse events to be reported by participants; developing a budget; establishing a process to seek grants and other funding from federal and other sources; establishing a method to determine participant fees, if necessary; establishing auditing and oversight procedures; and establishing criteria for terminating a participant from the program;
- maintain the confidentiality of all patient safety data that identifies or could be reasonably used to identify a participant or an individual who is receiving or has received health care from the participant; and
- appoint an administrator of the commission who serves under the supervision of the board and who may not be a voting member of the board.

⁷ ORS 442.831 and 442.835 (2019).



Patient Safety Commission Board of Directors, Oregon

Agency: **None** Authorization: **ORS 442.830** Min Members: **17** Max Members: **17** Term Length: **4** Term Limit: **2** Senate Confirmation Required?: **Yes** Policy Area: Health Board Admin: Val Harmon Address: Oregon Patient Safety Commission PO Box 285 Portland, OR 97204 503-224-5034 val.harmon@oregonpatientsafety.org

Current Appointments

Caldwell, Hollie	Term(s):	4/26/2023 - 7/1/2026
Faculty Member Rep		
Position Number: 1		
Bui, Lisa T	Term(s):	10/1/2022 - 9/30/2026
Public Purchaser		12/17/2018 - 9/30/2022
Position Number: 3		
Russell Morris, Jessica H	Term(s):	10/1/2019 - 9/30/2023
Healthcare Consumer		
Position Number: 5		
Dr Marvin, Judith	Term(s):	10/1/2020 - 9/30/2024
Insurer		10/1/2016 - 9/30/2020
Position Number: 6		
Dr Engrav, Mary B MD	Term(s):	3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024
Insurer		
Position Number: 7		
Hurst, Heather L	Term(s):	3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024
Labor		
Position Number: 8		
Dr Chadaga, Smitha R	Term(s):	3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024
Physician		
Position Number: 9		
Dr. Dannenhoffer, Robert L MD	Term(s):	3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024
Physician		
Position Number: 10		

Ms Mitchell, Leah M	Term(s):	10/1/2019 - 9/30/2023
Hospital Administrator		11/20/2015 - 9/30/2019
Position Number: 12		
Hufft, Katherine	Term(s):	10/1/2022 - 7/1/2026
Pharmacist		
Position Number: 13		
Ms Ketchum, Kristi K	Term(s):	3/1/2021 - 9/30/2024
Ambulatory Surgical Center		
Position Number: 14		
Mrs Bemetz, Amanda J	Term(s):	3/1/2021 - 9/30/2023
Nurse		
Position Number: 15		
Sprando, Erin	Term(s):	4/26/2023 - 7/1/2026
Nursing Facility Rep		
Position Number: 16		
Dr Selover, Dana S	Term(s):	-
Public Health Officer; By Position		
Position Number: 17		

Vacant Positions

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
2	Ms Evans, Gayle M SPHR	Governor	10/1/2017	9/30/2021
2	Ms Evans, Gayle M SPHR	Governor	3/1/2014	9/30/2017
2	Mr Martin, James F	Governor	10/1/2009	9/30/2013
2	Mr Martin, James F	Governor	1/23/2006	9/30/2009
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
4	Ms Wells, Elaine M	Covernor	10/1/2017	
	IVIS VVEIIS, EIdille IVI	Governor	10/1/2017	9/30/2021
4	Ms Price, Naomi K	Governor	10/1/2017 10/1/2012	9/30/2021 9/30/2016
4				
	Ms Price, Naomi K	Governor	10/1/2012	9/30/2016
4	Ms Price, Naomi K Ms Price, Naomi K	Governor Governor	10/1/2012 7/1/2009	9/30/2016 9/30/2012

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
11	Ms Rose, Regina P	Governor	10/1/2018	9/30/2022
11	Ms Rose, Regina P	Governor	11/20/2015	9/30/2018
11	Mrs Thompson, Bonnie M	Governor	10/1/2014	9/30/2018
11	Mrs Thompson, Bonnie M	Governor	4/1/2013	9/30/2014
11	Mr Wathen, James A	Governor	10/1/2010	9/30/2014