SB 1090 -2 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee On Rules

Prepared By: Leslie Porter, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 5/25

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Maintains Oregon on Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) for 12 months of calendar year, except portion of Oregon in Mountain Time Zone (MTZ), upon enactment of federal law allowing states to maintain daylight saving time. Maintains Oregon on Pacific Standard Time (PST) for 12 months of calendar year, except portion of Oregon in MTZ, if necessary changes to federal law allowing states to maintain daylight saving time are not made by December 1, 2033.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-2 Replaces the measure. Maintains Oregon on standard time for 12 months of calendar year.

BACKGROUND:

Daylight saving time in the United States is the practice of setting the clock one hour forward for 34 weeks of the year, allowing for more daylight in the evening hours. It begins each on the second Sunday in March, and ends on the first Sunday in November. It was used during World War I and II, with some state and local governments persisting in the practice. The federal Uniform Time Act of 1966 standardized the practice nationwide and allowed states with a single time zone to exempt themselves.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), since 2015, state legislatures have considered at least 450 bills and resolutions to establish year-round daylight saving time as soon as federal law allows it. NCSL further states that inherent to the debate about ending the twice-yearly clock switching is whether states should enact permanent standard time or permanent daylight saving time. The federal Uniform Time Act of 1966 allows the former option, but not the latter.

In the last five years, 19 states have enacted legislation or passed resolutions to provide for year-round daylight saving time, if Congress were to allow such a change, and in some cases, and if surrounding states enact the same legislation. Because federal law does not currently allow full-time daylight savings time, Congress would have to act before states could adopt changes. The 19 states are: Colorado and Kentucky (2022); Alabama, Georgia, Minnesota, Mississippi and Montana (2021); Idaho, Louisiana, Ohio, South Carolina, Utah and Wyoming (2020); Delaware, Maine, Oregon, Tennessee and Washington (2019); and Florida (2018).

Two states, Arizona and Hawaii, and the U.S. territories of American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands observe permanent standard time only.

Senate Bill 1090 maintains Oregon on Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) for 12 months of calendar year, except portion of Oregon in Mountain Time Zone (MTZ), upon enactment of federal law allowing states to maintain daylight saving time, and maintains Oregon on Pacific Standard Time (PST) for 12 months of calendar year, except portion of Oregon in MTZ, if necessary changes to federal law allowing states to maintain daylight saving time are not made by December 1, 2033.