## HB 2099 -3 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **Joint Committee On Transportation**

**Prepared By:** Patrick Brennan, LPRO Analyst

**Meeting Dates:** 5/9, 5/16

## WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Placeholder - see "Effect of Amendment" section below.

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

-3 Replaces original measure. Allows Oregon Transportation Commission to reduce amount of cash match for Safe Routes to Schools grants by rule, and directs Commission to prioritize expenditures for projects located within a two-mile radius of schools serving grades 1-12. Modifies language permitting Department of Transportation to provide grants under Connect Oregon when at least \$50 million is available in the Connect Oregon Fund. Specifies that, for use fuel purposes, a valid user's license is not required if the tax for all fuel used is paid at time of sale, or if person is subject to either weight-mile tax or flat fee rate. Adds definition of "liquefied petroleum gas" to use fuel statutes. Increases volumes of compressed natural gas, and adds volumes of liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas, and hydrogen for taxation of use fuels. Revises Small City Allocation to specify that moneys may be used on roads for project elements required for compliance with federal or state law. Clarifies that all moneys in Small City Account are to be expended to the extent that moneys are available. References small city advisory committee as consultant for Department for entering into agreements with cities and directs advisory committee to provide Department with ranked list of applications. Directs Department to adopt rules necessary to administer the federal Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse and prohibits Department from issuing or renewing commercial driving privileges for person who has not complied with rules. Revises statutes related to regulation and certification of persons and organizations for safe operation of motor vehicles, including commercial motor vehicles. Modified term "endorsement" to "approval" for county sheriff for purposes of emergency driver permits and special student driver permits. Clarifies that Department may issue temporary permits for Class C driver licenses and noncommercial driving permits and may establish eligibility by rule. Modifies provisions for permanent suspension of commercial driving privileges. Permits weighmaster or motor carrier enforcement officer to present evidence in lieu of city or district attorney in certain cases. Provides that inspection of vehicle dealers should be during normal business hours Monday through Friday. Modifies provisions related to renewal of vehicle dealer certificates. Modifies provisions related to use of vehicle dealer plates. Permits Department to revoke, suspend, or place on probation vehicle dealers for failure to pay certain civil penalties or for display of dealer plates on vehicles not for sale. Allows Department to determine which special interest plates are available for issuance, and allows Department to determine whether plates no longer currently issued may still be transferred. Authorizes Department to designate, by rule, law enforcement agencies to perform vehicle identification number inspections. Deletes provision allowing voluntary reporting of odometer reading to Department for vehicles 10 years old or older. Repeals sections related to commercial driver training schools and revises Department rulemaking authority for commercial driving schools. Modifies fees for certain certificates for dealers, dismantlers, towing businesses, vehicle transporters, training instructors, and commercial

#### HB 2099 -3 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

driver training schools. Limits to 10 the number of special vehicle transporter places or devices for holders vehicle transporter certificate. Designates use of vehicle transporter plate outside of State of Oregon as improper use of vehicle transporter plate, punishable as Class D traffic violation. Clarifies meaning of "qualified provider" of driving tests. Allows Department to enter into intergovernmental agreement with City of Portland for removal, storage, and disposition of personal property left or displayed on property owned by Department. Increases flat fee rate for bulk material haulers from \$11.50 to \$19.52 per 100 pounds. Takes effect on 91st day followingadjournment sine die.

FIS:

RIS:

## **BACKGROUND:**

House Bill 2099 is the omnibus transportation measure for the 2023 Session.