## SB 423 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **House Committee On Higher Education**

**Prepared By:** Ellen O'Brien, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 4/18, 5/9

## WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Adds faculty and nonfaculty staff members to Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) Board of Directors and increases OHSU board membership from nine to 11. Requires all members of OHSU board to be voting members and prohibits faculty and nonfaculty staff members on OHSU board from participating in board actions and discussions about collective bargaining issues.

FISCAL: Minimal fiscal impact

REVENUE: No revenue impact

SENATE VOTE: Ayes, 21; Nays, 8; Excused, 1

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

Codifying current faculty and staff board positions

• Staff representation on OHSU board

## **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

In 1995, the Legislative Assembly converted Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU) from a public university to a public corporation and established a board of directors. Since then, the governance structure of OHSU has remained largely the same beyond changes to the number of board members, which increased from seven to 10 in 2001 and decreased to nine in 2015.

Prior to the dissolution of the State Board of Higher Education (SBHE) and the Oregon University System in 2015, ORS 351.015 (2013) and ORS 351.020 (2013) required SBHE to include university faculty members and prohibited those members from participating in actions and discussions involving collective bargaining issues. Senate Bill 270 (2013) created independent governing boards for Oregon's seven public universities, and since their inception those boards have been required to include faculty and nonfaculty staff members. A provision prohibiting those university governing boards' faculty and nonfaculty staff members from participating in actions and discussions involving collective bargaining issues was added by Senate Bill 1525 (2014).

Senate Bill 423 A modifies the composition of the Oregon Health and Science University Board of Directors.