**ORS 471.001 Definitions for ORS chapters 471 and 473.** As used in this chapter and ORS chapter 473:

(1) "Alcoholic beverage" and "alcoholic liquor" mean any liquid or solid containing more than one-half of one percent alcohol by volume and capable of being consumed by a human being.

(2) "Commercial establishment" means a place of business:

(a) Where food is cooked and served;

(b) That has kitchen facilities adequate for the preparation and serving of meals;

(c) That has dining facilities adequate for the serving and consumption of meals; and (d) That:

(A) If not a for-profit private club, serves meals to the general public; or

(B) If a for-profit private club, serves meals to the club's members and guests and complies with any minimum membership and food service requirements established by Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission rules.

(3) "Commission" means the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission.

(4) "Distilled liquor" means any alcoholic beverage other than a wine, cider or malt beverage. "Distilled liquor" includes distilled spirits.

(5) "Licensee" means any person holding a license issued under this chapter.

(6)(a) "Malt beverage" means beer, ale, porter, stout and other similar fermented beverages that contain more than one-half of one percent and not more than 16 percent of alcohol by volume and that are brewed or produced from malt, wholly or in part, or from rice, grain, bran, glucose, sugar or molasses as a substitute for malt.

(b) "Malt beverage" does not include cider, mead, sake or wine.

(7) "Manufacturer" means every person who produces, brews, ferments, manufactures or blends an alcoholic beverage within this state or who imports or causes to be imported into this state an alcoholic beverage for sale or distribution within the state.

(8) "Permittee" means a person holding a permit issued under ORS 471.360 to 471.385.

(9) "Premises" or "licensed premises" means a location licensed under this chapter and includes all enclosed areas at the location that are used in the business operated at the location, including offices, kitchens, rest rooms and storerooms, including all public and private areas where patrons are permitted to be present. "Premises" or "licensed premises" includes areas outside of a building that the commission has specifically designated as approved for alcoholic beverage service or consumption.

(10) "Regulatory specialist" means a full-time employee of the commission who is authorized to act as an agent of the commission in conducting inspections or investigations, making arrests and seizures, aiding in prosecutions for offenses, issuing citations for violations and otherwise enforcing this chapter, ORS 474.005 to 474.095, 474.115, 475C.005 to 475C.525, 475C.540 to 475C.586 and 475C.600 to 475C.648, commission rules and any other statutes the commission considers related to regulating liquor, marijuana or marijuana-derived products.

(11) "Wine" means any fermented vinous liquor or fruit juice, or other fermented beverage fit for beverage purposes that is not a malt beverage, containing more than one-half of one percent of alcohol by volume and not more than 21 percent of alcohol by volume. "Wine" includes fortified wine. "Wine" does not include cider. [1995 c.301 §2; 1999 c.351 §42; 2005 c.100 §1; 2010 c.33 §1; 2012 c.54 §1; 2015 c.614 §160; 2016 c.24 §19; 2021 c.180 §4; 2021 c.351 §38]

**ORS 471.230 Distillery license.** (1) <u>A distillery license allows the licensee to import,</u> <u>manufacture, distill, rectify, blend, denature and store distilled liquor, to sell the distilled liquor</u> to the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission and to transport the distilled liquor out of this <u>state for sale outside this state</u>. Distillery licensees may purchase and sell distilled liquor from or to another distillery licensee in containers having a capacity greater than one U.S. gallon for blending and manufacturing purposes. A distillery licensee may not sell any alcoholic beverage within this state except to the commission or as provided in this section. However, any agricultural producer or association of agricultural producers or the legal agents of an agricultural producer or association of agricultural producers that manufactures and converts agricultural surpluses, by-products and wastes into denatured ethyl and industrial alcohol for use in the arts and industry are not required to obtain a license from the commission.

(2) If a distillery licensee holds a valid distilled spirits plant basic permit issued by the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau for the licensed premises, the distillery licensee <u>may:</u>

(a) Permit tastings of distilled liquor approved by the commission <u>for sale in Oregon and</u> <u>manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee or by another distillery licensee</u>. Tastings may be of the distilled liquor alone or with a mix of other liquids. If any of the other liquids are distilled liquors, they must be distilled liquors on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and must be purchased by the licensee at the retail price established by the commission. This paragraph does not authorize sales by the drink of distilled liquor. The tastings may be conducted on the licensed <u>premises of the distillery and at no more</u> <u>than five other premises owned or leased by the licensee</u>. The commission may allow more than one distillery licensee to use the same premises at the same time for conducting tastings if the premises are a primary production location and the licensees share the premises or are owned by the same entity. If the manufacturer of the distilled liquor obtains distilled liquor for conducting tastings from the inventory of the commission, the licensee shall pay the commission a processing fee.

(b) Obtain a special events distillery license.

(c) Apply for appointment by the commission as a distillery retail outlet agent for purposes of retailing distilled liquor at locations where tastings are permitted under paragraph (a) of this subsection or subsection (4)(a) of this section. A distillery retail outlet agent may sell at locations where tastings are allowed under paragraph (a) of this subsection only distilled liquor that is on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and is manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee or by another distillery licensee that uses the same premises as a primary production location or is owned by the same entity as the distillery licensee.

(3) Notwithstanding ORS 471.392 to 471.400, a distillery licensee may hold one or more full on-premises sales licenses. All distilled liquor sold under a full on-premises sales license must be purchased from the commission.

(4) A distillery licensee that holds a special events distillery license may conduct an event on premises designated in the special events distillery license. Except as provided in this subsection, a special events distillery license may be valid for a period not exceeding five days. The commission shall limit the approval of special events distillery licenses for a distillery licensee at the same location to not more than 62 days during a calendar year. A distillery licensee conducting a special event may:

(a) Permit tastings of distilled liquor approved by the commission for sale in Oregon and manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee. Tastings may be of the distilled liquor alone or with a mix of other liquids. If any of the other liquids are distilled liquors, they must be distilled liquors on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and must be purchased by the licensee at the retail price established by the commission. If the manufacturer of the distilled liquor obtains distilled liquor for conducting tastings from the inventory of the commission, the licensee shall pay the commission a processing fee.

(b) Permit sales by the drink of distilled liquor. A drink that a distillery licensee sells under this paragraph must include distilled liquor that the licensee manufactured in Oregon. Any distilled liquor contained in the drink must be on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon. The distillery licensee selling the drink must purchase all distilled liquor contained in the drink at the retail price set by the commission for the month in which the drink is sold.

(c) If the distillery licensee has been appointed as a distillery retail outlet agent under subsection (2)(c) of this section, sell distilled liquor in factory-sealed containers for consumption off the licensed premises. A distillery retail outlet agent may sell at a location where tastings are allowed under paragraph (a) of this subsection only distilled liquor that is on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and is manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee. The distillery retail outlet agent must sell the distilled liquor at the retail price set by the commission for the month of sale.

(5) The commission shall pay a distillery retail outlet agent compensation for distilled liquor retail sales by the agent under subsection (2)(c) or (4)(c) of this section. The compensation rate shall be:

(a) For the first 250,000 of annual total combined retail sales from all distillery retail outlet agent tasting locations operated by the distillery licensee under subsection (2)(a) or (4)(a) of this section, 45 percent of the retail price set by the commission for the sold distilled liquor.

(b) For distilled liquor retail sales by the agent that are not described in paragraph (a) of this subsection, 17 percent of the retail price set by the commission for the sold distilled liquor. [Amended by 1987 c.558 §1; 1995 c.301 §16; 1997 c.803 §1; 2007 c.134 §1; 2009 c.38 §3; 2009 c.237 §2; 2011 c.9 §64; 2012 c.20 §1; 2013 c.253 §1; 2015 c.549 §1; 2017 c.533 §9; 2019 c.658 §2; 2021 c.351 §61; 2021 c.649 §1]

**Note:** The amendments to 471.230 by section 3, chapter 649, Oregon Laws 2021, become operative January 2, 2028, and apply to distilled liquor retail sales made by a distillery retail outlet agent on or after January 2, 2028. See section 4, chapter 649, Oregon Laws 2021. The text that is operative on and after January 2, 2028, is set forth for the user's convenience.

**ORS 471.230.** (1) A distillery license allows the licensee to import, manufacture, distill, rectify, blend, denature and store distilled liquor, to sell the distilled liquor to the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission and to transport the distilled liquor out of this state for sale outside this state. Distillery licensees may purchase and sell distilled liquor from or to another distillery licensee in containers having a capacity greater than one U.S. gallon for blending and manufacturing purposes. A distillery licensee may not sell any alcoholic beverage within this state except to the commission or as provided in this section. However, any agricultural producer or association of agricultural producers that manufactures and converts agricultural surpluses, by-

products and wastes into denatured ethyl and industrial alcohol for use in the arts and industry are not required to obtain a license from the commission.

(2) If a distillery licensee holds a valid distilled spirits plant basic permit issued by the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau for the licensed premises, the distillery licensee may:

(a) Permit tastings of distilled liquor approved by the commission for sale in Oregon and manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee or by another distillery licensee. Tastings may be of the distilled liquor alone or with a mix of other liquids. If any of the other liquids are distilled liquors, they must be distilled liquors on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and must be purchased by the licensee at the retail price established by the commission. This paragraph does not authorize sales by the drink of distilled liquor. The tastings may be conducted on the licensed premises of the distillery and at no more than five other premises owned or leased by the licensee. The commission may allow more than one distillery licensee to use the same premises at the same time for conducting tastings if the premises are a primary production location and the licensees share the premises or are owned by the same entity. If the manufacturer of the distilled liquor obtains distilled liquor for conducting tastings from the inventory of the commission, the licensee shall pay the commission a processing fee.

(b) Obtain a special events distillery license.

(c) Apply for appointment by the commission as a distillery retail outlet agent for purposes of retailing distilled liquor at locations where tastings are permitted under paragraph (a) of this subsection or subsection (4)(a) of this section. A distillery retail outlet agent may sell at locations where tastings are allowed under paragraph (a) of this subsection only distilled liquor that is on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and is manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee or by another distillery licensee that uses the same premises as a primary production location or is owned by the same entity as the distillery licensee.

(3) Notwithstanding ORS 471.392 to 471.400, a distillery licensee may hold one or more full on-premises sales licenses. All distilled liquor sold under a full on-premises sales license must be purchased from the commission.

(4) A distillery licensee that holds a special events distillery license may conduct an event on premises designated in the special events distillery license. Except as provided in this subsection, a special events distillery license may be valid for a period not exceeding five days. The commission shall limit the approval of special events distillery licenses for a distillery licensee at the same location to not more than 62 days during a calendar year. A distillery licensee conducting a special event may:

(a) Permit tastings of distilled liquor approved by the commission for sale in Oregon and manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee. Tastings may be of the distilled liquor alone or with a mix of other liquids. If any of the other liquids are distilled liquors, they must be distilled liquors on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and must be purchased by the licensee at the retail price established by the commission. If the manufacturer of the distilled liquor obtains distilled liquor for conducting tastings from the inventory of the commission, the licensee shall pay the commission a processing fee.

(b) Permit sales by the drink of distilled liquor. A drink that a distillery licensee sells under this paragraph must include distilled liquor that the licensee manufactured in Oregon. Any distilled liquor contained in the drink must be on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon. The distillery licensee selling the drink must purchase all distilled liquor contained in the drink at the retail price set by the commission for the month in which the drink is sold.

(c) If the distillery licensee has been appointed as a distillery retail outlet agent under subsection (2)(c) of this section, sell distilled liquor in factory-sealed containers for consumption off the licensed premises. A distillery retail outlet agent may sell at a location where tastings are allowed under paragraph (a) of this subsection only distilled liquor that is on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and is manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee. The distillery retail outlet agent must sell the distilled liquor at the retail price set by the commission for the month of sale.

## ORS 471.810 Distribution of available moneys in Oregon Liquor and Cannabis

**Commission Account.** (1) At the end of each month, the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission shall <u>certify the amount of moneys available for distribution in the Oregon Liquor</u> <u>and Cannabis Commission Account</u> and, after withholding such moneys as it may deem necessary to pay its outstanding obligations, shall within 35 days of the month for which a distribution is made direct the State Treasurer to pay the amounts due, upon warrants drawn by the Oregon Department of Administrative Services, as follows:

(a) <u>Fifty-six percent</u>, or the amount remaining after the distribution under subsection (4) of this section, credited to the <u>General Fund available</u> for general governmental purposes wherein it shall be considered as revenue during the quarter immediately preceding receipt;

(b) Twenty percent to the cities of the state in such shares as the population of each city bears to the population of the cities of the state, as determined by Portland State University last preceding such apportionment, under ORS 190.510 to 190.610;

(c) Ten percent to counties in such shares as their respective populations bear to the total population of the state, as estimated from time to time by Portland State University; and

(d) Fourteen percent to the cities of the state to be distributed as provided in ORS 221.770 and this section.

(2) The commission shall direct the Oregon Department of Administrative Services to transfer 50 percent of the revenues from the taxes imposed by ORS 473.030 and 473.035 to the Mental Health Alcoholism and Drug Services Account in the General Fund to be paid monthly as provided in ORS 430.380.

(3) If the amount of revenues received from the taxes imposed by ORS 473.030 for the preceding month was reduced as a <u>result of credits claimed under ORS 473.047</u>, the commission shall compute the difference between the amounts paid or transferred as described in subsections (1)(b), (c) and (d) and (2) of this section and the amounts that would have been paid or transferred under subsections (1)(b), (c) and (d) and (2) of this section if no credits had been claimed. The commission shall direct the Oregon Department of Administrative Services to pay or transfer amounts equal to the differences computed for subsections (1)(b), (c) and (d) and (2) of this section from the General Fund to the recipients or accounts described in subsections (1)(b), (c) and (d) and (2) of this section.

(4) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, no city or county shall receive for any fiscal year an amount less than the amount distributed to the city or county in accordance with ORS 471.350 (1965 Replacement Part), 471.810, 473.190 and 473.210 (1965 Replacement Part) during the 1966-1967 fiscal year unless the city or county had a decline in population as shown

by its census. If the population declined, the per capita distribution to the city or county shall be not less than the total per capita distribution during the 1966-1967 fiscal year. Any additional funds required to maintain the level of distribution under this subsection shall be paid from funds credited under subsection (1)(a) of this section.

(5) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, amounts to be distributed from the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission Account that are attributable to a per bottle surcharge imposed by the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission, shall be credited to the General Fund. [Amended by 1955 c.475 11; 1957 c.222 1; 1957 c.445 1; 1961 c.78 1; 1961 c.635 1; 1967 c.577 5; 1969 c.499 1; 1975 c.424 4; 1975 c.527 4; 1977 c.831 3; 1977 c.856 1; 1987 c.406 2; 1997 c.348 1; 2001 c.971 4; 2007 c.71 1; 2007 c.854 4; 2013 c.768 1; 2016; 2015 c.840 8; 2021 c.351 1;

**ORS 473.030 Tax on wines and malt beverages.** (1) A tax is imposed upon the privilege of engaging in business as a manufacturer or as an importing distributor of malt beverages at the rate of \$2.60 per barrel of 31 gallons on all such beverages.

(2) A tax is imposed upon the privilege of engaging in business as a manufacturer or as an importing distributor of wines at the rate of 65 cents per gallon on all such beverages.

(3) In addition to the tax imposed by subsection (2) of this section, a manufacturer or an importing distributor of wines containing more than 16 percent alcohol by volume shall be taxed at the rate of 10 cents per gallon.

## (4) In addition to the taxes imposed by subsections (2) and (3) of this section, a manufacturer or an importing distributor of wines shall be taxed at the rate of two cents per gallon. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, all moneys collected by the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission pursuant to this subsection shall be paid into the account established by the Oregon Wine Board under ORS 182.470.

(5) The rates of tax imposed by this section upon malt beverages apply proportionately to quantities in containers of less capacity than those quantities specified in this section.

(6) The taxes imposed by this section shall be measured by the volume of wine or malt beverages produced, purchased or received by any manufacturer. If the wine or malt beverage remains unsold and in the possession of the producer at the plant where it was produced, no tax imposed or levied by this section is required to be paid until the wine or malt beverage has become sufficiently aged for marketing at retail, but this subsection shall not be construed so as to alter or affect any provision of this chapter relating to tax liens or the filing of statements. [Amended by 1974 c.4 §9; 1975 c.424 §3; 1977 c.856 §19; 1983 c.651 §9; 1987 c.608 §3; 1995 c.301 §23; 1997 c.249 §176; 1999 c.351 §79; 2003 c.797 §22; 2021 c.180 §16; 2021 c.351 §162]

**ORS 473.035 Tax on cider.** (1) A tax is imposed upon the privilege of engaging in business as a manufacturer or as an importing distributor of cider at the rate of \$2.60 per barrel of 31 gallons on all such beverages.

(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section or any other provision of law, the taxation of the manufacturing or distribution of cider shall be at a rate that is not less than the rate imposed for the privilege of manufacturing or distributing malt beverages under ORS 473.030 (1).

(3) The rate of tax imposed by this section shall apply proportionately to quantities in containers of less capacity than those quantities specified in this section.

(4) The tax imposed by this section shall be measured by the volume of cider produced, purchased or received by any manufacturer. If the cider remains unsold and in the possession of the producer at the plant where it was produced, no tax imposed or levied by this section is required to be paid until the cider has become sufficiently aged for marketing at retail, but this subsection shall not be construed so as to alter or affect any provision of this chapter relating to tax liens or the filing of statements. [1997 c.348 §3]

**ORS 473.047 Marketing activity tax credit; rules.** (1) As used in this section, "qualified marketing activity" means marketing activity:

(a) That promotes the sale of wine or wine products;

(b) That does not promote specific brands of wine or wine products or exclusively promote the products of any particular winery; and

(c) That has been approved by the Oregon Wine Board.

(2) A credit against the privilege tax otherwise due under ORS 473.030 (2) is allowed to a manufacturer or importing distributor of wine for the qualified marketing activity expenditures made by the manufacturer or importing distributor in the calendar year prior to the year for which the credit is claimed.

(3) The credit allowed under this section shall be 28 percent of the sum of the following:

(a) One hundred percent of the cost of qualified marketing activity to the extent that the cost of the activity does not exceed the amount of taxes the manufacturer or importing distributor of wine owed under ORS 473.030 (2) on the first 40,000 gallons, or 151,000 liters, of wine sold annually in Oregon; and

(b) Twenty-five percent of the tax owed under ORS 473.030 (2) for qualified marketing activity on wine sales above 40,000 gallons, or 151,000 liters, of wine sold annually in Oregon.

(4) The credit allowed under this section may not exceed the tax liability of the manufacturer or importing distributor of wine under ORS 473.030 (2) for the calendar year following the year in which qualified marketing activity occurred.

(5) A manufacturer or importing distributor of wine that wishes to claim the credit allowed under this section shall submit with the manufacturer's or importing distributor's tax return form a certificate issued by the board verifying that the marketing activity was a qualified marketing activity. The credit shall be claimed on the form and include the information required by the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission by rule.

(6) The credit shall be claimed against the taxes reported on the return filed under ORS 473.060 for each month in the calendar year following the year in which the qualified marketing activity occurred, until the credit is completely used or the year ends, whichever occurs first.

(7) The board shall by rule further define, consistent with the definition in subsection (1) of this section, the marketing activities that constitute qualified marketing activity. [2001 c.971 §2; 2003 c.797 §24; 2021 c.351 §165]

**473.050 When privilege tax not imposed.** In computing any privilege tax imposed by ORS 473.030 or 473.035:

(1) No malt beverage, cider or wine is subject to tax more than once.

(2) No tax shall be levied, collected or imposed upon any malt beverage, cider or wine sold to the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission or exported from the state.

(3) No tax shall be levied, collected or imposed upon any malt beverage given away and consumed on the licensed premises of a brewery licensee, or sold to or by a voluntary

nonincorporated organization of army, air corps or navy personnel operating a place for the sale of goods pursuant to regulations promulgated by the proper authority of each such service.

(4) No tax shall be levied, collected or imposed upon any malt beverage, cider or wine determined by the commission to be unfit for human consumption or unsalable.

(5) No tax shall be levied, collected or imposed upon the first 40,000 gallons, or 151,000 liters, of wine sold annually in Oregon from a United States manufacturer of wines producing less than 100,000 gallons, or 379,000 liters, annually. [Amended by 1971 c.158 §1; 1977 c.856 §20; 1981 c.199 §4; 1983 c.651 §7; 1995 c.301 §24; 1997 c.348 §5; 2007 c.854 §5; 2021 c.351 §166]