# HB 2515 -2, -3 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

### House Committee On Business and Labor

Prepared By:Erin Seiler, LPRO AnalystMeeting Dates:1/25, 3/22, 4/3

## WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Allows marijuana producer, marijuana wholesaler, marijuana processor, or marijuana retailer to use motion detection camera system at licensed premises. Allows minor children of licensed marijuana enterprise owner to be present at licensed premises under specific conditions. Authorizes Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) to adopt rules to allow marijuana licensee to use electronic technology to verify age. Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- Removing barriers to growth in cannabis industry
- Regulatory system that cannabis businesses operate within
- Cost of compliance with regulatory system
- Use of facial recognition technology for age verification
- Permitting motion-activated cameras at licensed premises
- Amendments

### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

-2 Replaces measure. Authorizes Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) to adopt rules to allow marijuana licensee to use electronic technology to verify age. Create a "Greenhouse" designation for producers license; minor may be on premise of OLCC-licensed entities, except retailers, under certain conditions. Authorizes OLCC to process applications & licenses on a per-capita basis: processor license there is not more than one active license per 12,500 residents in this state who are 21 years of age or older; wholesaler license there is not more than one active license per 12,500 residents in this state who are 21 years of age or older; and retailer license there is not more than one active license per 7,500 residents in this state who are 21 years of age or older; and retailer license there is not more than one active license per 7,500 residents in this state who are 21 years of age or older; and retailer license there is not more than one active license per 7,500 residents in this state who are 21 years of age or older. Exempts licenses renewals, reissuance because of location change or ownership, change in size of a mature marijuana plant grow canopy; or sale or purchase of license to operative date of Act. Authorizes direct donations to card-carrying medical patients; Allow for edible manufacturers to create non-THC goods in the same facility; move away from daily sales limits of packages to daily possession limits of THC.

#### Provides OLCC rulemaking authority.

Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

-3 The difference in this amendment is removal of provision permitting minor to be on premise of OLCC-licensed entities, except retailers, under certain conditions.

Replaces measure. Authorizes Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) to adopt rules to allow marijuana licensee to use electronic technology to verify age. Create a "Greenhouse" designation for producers license; minor may be on premise of OLCC-licensed entities, except retailers, under certain conditions. Wholesaler license there is not more than one active license per 12,500 residents in this state who are 21 years of age or older; and retailer license there is not more than one active license per 7,500 residents in this state who are 21 years of age or older; and or older. Exempts licenses renewals, reissuance because of location change or ownership, change in size of a mature marijuana plant grow canopy; or sale or purchase of license to operative date of Act. Authorizes direct donations to card-carrying medical patients; Allow for edible manufacturers to create non-THC goods in the same

facility; move away from daily sales limits of packages to daily possession limits of THC.

Provides OLCC rulemaking authority.

Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

### BACKGROUND:

The Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission (OLCC) is the agency responsible for regulating the production, processing and sale of recreational marijuana in Oregon through the Control, Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act. OLCC also regulates the production, processing and sale of medical products sold to Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) cardholders in OLCC licensed marijuana retail shops.

The Recreational Marijuana Program is exclusively authorized to make recreational and medical grade marijuana available to consumers and licensed businesses through retail marijuana stores. The program also tracks the growing, transporting, processing and selling of recreational marijuana products. The Public Safety Program is responsible for licensing and regulating the operation of the recreational marijuana industry in Oregon.