HB 3308 -4 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Economic Development and Small Business

Prepared By:Andrew Hendrie, LPRO AnalystMeeting Dates:3/21, 3/28

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Sets up system to allow Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission to issue delivery permit to individual to deliver alcoholic beverages on behalf of business that holds license, permit or is agent with the authority to deliver to final consumer at delivery address. Prohibits delivery without proper permit. Prohibits person not registered as third-party delivery facilitator from acting as third-party delivery facilitator. Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-4 Allows eligible business or third-party facilitator to employ or contract delivery person. Delivery person must be 18 years of age, have valid state issued identification, and complete a training program and receive a certificate of completion.

Eligible business or third-party facilitator is required to develop an alcohol delivery training program. program must address forms of identification, signs of visible intoxication, and rules relating to delivery of alcoholic beverages to a final consumer. the training program must be approved by Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commision (the commission) and issue a certificate of completion. Eligible business or third-party facilitators may offer an internal program or contract with another party that offers a training program approved by the commission.

In order to engage in alcohol delivery a third-party facilitator must hold a permit issued by the commission.

BACKGROUND:

House Bill 3308 sets up a system to allow the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission to issue a delivery permit to an individual to deliver alcoholic beverages on behalf of a business that holds a license, permit or is an agent with the authority to deliver to the final consumer at a delivery address. The applicant must be 18 years old, submit a form, pay a fee less than \$50, and provide any other requested information. The commission may refuse to issue a permit if the individual provides false or misleading information, does not have a good record of compliance, has been convicted of any alcohol law, or has not completed a delivery educational program.

The commission will create a delivery education program that will include forms of identification and methods for identifying, inspecting, accepting or rejecting identification.

A third-party delivery facilitator must be registered with the Oregon liquor and cannabis commission. A third-party facilitator must qualify, and the commission may refuse to register a third-party facilitator.

Prohibits delivery without proper permit. The penalty is a maximum of \$2,000 fine for a first offence, subsequent offences can be up to 364 days imprisonment, a \$6,250 fine, or both. Prohibits person not registered as third-party delivery facilitator from acting as third-party delivery facilitator. The penalty can be up to 364 days imprisonment, a \$6,250 fine, or both. The commission may impose a civil fine on a facilitator in violation.