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Unemployment Insurance

What is Unemployment Insurance?

• Federal-State partnership with U.S. 

Department of Labor

• Weekly payments for people 

who lose their job and meet 

program eligibility requirements

• Benefit amounts are based on the 

amount earned during the base year

• Up to 26 weeks of benefits during a 

52-week benefit year 
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To be eligible for benefits: 

• Worked 500 hours or paid 

$1,000 by an employer during a 

base year

• Unemployed through no fault of 

your own

• Able to work

• Available for work

• Actively seeking work

Unemployment Insurance
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Unemployment Insurance

How employers contribute to benefits:

• Contributory (tax-paying)

o Pays payroll taxes

o Most employers are in this category

• Reimbursing 

o Pays back benefits dollar for dollar

o Most schools are in this category

• Local Gov. Employer Benefit Trust Fund 

(LGEBTF)

o Hybrid of contributory and reimbursing

o Small number of Oregon employers
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Federal law

• Prohibits benefits during breaks 

for "professional" school 

employees who:

o Work in “an instructional, 

research, or principal 

administrative capacity” 

o Have “reasonable assurance” 

to return to work in the same 

capacity after the break

School employees during breaks
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Unemployment Insurance for school employees

Senate Bill 489 (2023)

• Removed the "reasonable assurance" 

requirement for "non-professional" school 

employees

• Allowed more “non-professional” employees to 

collect benefits during school break periods

Things to know

• Determining factor: job duties

• "Non-professional" is not the same as "classified"

• Seeking work: Need to look for work during the 

break to cover the break period
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Senate Bill 489 (2023)
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2023* 2024*

Initial Claims (School Employees) 3,782 7,431

School Employees Paid at Least One Week 1,503 4,846

Total Benefits Paid to School Employees $8.9 M $24.8 M

Average Weekly Benefit Amount $495 $440

*Data for customers who filed an initial claim between March 1 – October 31 who have school employee wages in their 

base year. 



What is Paid Leave Oregon?

Family Leave

Medical Leave

Safe Leave
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Paid Leave Eligibility
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Eligibility requirements

❖ You are employed and your work is located in Oregon.​

❖ You earned at least $1,000 in wages in the base year 

before your qualifying life event.​

❖ You contributed to Paid Leave through payroll 

deductions. 

❖ You experience a qualifying life event.​



Who is covered by Paid Leave Oregon?
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Employers

• All employers with at least one employee 

working in Oregon

Employees

• All employees working in Oregon

Elective Coverage

• Self-employed individuals and independent 

contractors

• Tribal governments



Equivalent Plans

❖  Equivalent plans must:

• Be approved by the department

• Limit withholdings from employees to 60% of 
the contribution rate

• Provide equal or greater benefits to employees

❖  Equivalent plan employers:

• Must report wages

• Do not pay contributions

❖  Two types of equivalent plans:

• Employer-administered equivalent plans

• Fully insured equivalent plans
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Breakdown by Leave Type*
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Leave Type % of Total
Average Number of 

Weeks Taken**

Bonding Leave 31.2% 10

Family Leave 16.0% 5

Medical Leave 51.6% 6

Safe Leave 1.1% 8

*From August 12, 2023 (launch of Paid Leave Oregon) to November 30, 2024

**Accounts for consecutive leave schedule only



Questions?
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