# Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules and Executive Appointments DATE: September 10, 2024 BY: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



# RESPIRATORY THERAPIST AND POLYSOMNOGRAPHIC TECHNOLOGIST LICENSING BOARD

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Respiratory Therapist and Polysomnographic Technologist Licensing Board subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

#### **New Appointees**

Carrie Coffman of Jacksonville Darrell Waite of Coquille

#### Terms

October 1, 2024 - September 30, 2028

#### **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 688.820 (2023)

#### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Not required.

### **Composition**<sup>3</sup>

The board consists of seven Oregon residents, including:

- three respiratory care practitioners (BURTON, ERICKSON, WAITE);
- two polysomnography practitioners (COFFMAN, STONE);
- one qualified medical director for polysomnography or for respiratory care (LEFOR); and
- one member of the general public (HERRERA-FUENTES).

Members serve four-year terms and may be selected by the Governor from a list of nominees for each vacancy, submitted by the Oregon Society for Respiratory Care or another professional organization representing respiratory care practitioners or polysomnographic technologists. The board selects its chair and vice chair.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2023).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2023).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 688.820 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

#### **Duties**<sup>4</sup>

The board oversees the practices of respiratory therapists and polysomnographic technologists. The board must:

- establish standards of practice and professional responsibility for persons licensed by the Health Licensing Office; and
- provide for waivers of examinations, grandfathering requirements, and temporary licenses as considered appropriate.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 688.830 (2023).



## Respiratory Therapist and Polysomnographic Technologist Licensing Board

Agency: Health Licensing Office Authorization: ORS 688.820 Min Members: 0 Max Members: 7 Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2 Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes Policy Area: Health Board Admin: Derek Fultz Address: Health Licensing Office 1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180 Salem, OR 97301 503-373-1915 DEREK.J.FULTZ@dhsoha.state.or.us

#### **Current Appointments**

Mr Erickson, Michael "Mike" D RRT	Term(s):	6/1/2021 - 5/31/2025
Respiratory Care Practitioner		
Position Number: <b>1</b>		
Burton, Richard II	Term(s):	2/16/2024 - 2/15/2028
Respiratory Care Practitioner		
Position Number: <b>2</b>		
Dr Lefor, Michael J MD	Term(s):	3/1/2016 - 2/28/2020
Qualified Medical Director For Polysomnography or		3/1/2012 - 2/29/2016
Respiratory Care		
Position Number: <b>6</b>		
Waite, Darrell	Term(s):	10/1/2024 - 9/30/2028
Licensed Respiratory Therapist		
Position Number: <b>3</b>		
Coffman, Carrie	Term(s):	10/1/2024 - 9/30/2028
Licensed Respiratory Therapist		
Position Number: <b>4</b>		
Stone, Corrine	Term(s):	6/5/2024 - 6/4/2028
Polysomnographic Technologist		
Position Number: <b>5</b>		
Herrera-Fuentes, Pablo A	Term(s):	11/25/2019 - 11/24/2023
Public Member		