Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules and Executive Appointments DATE: September 10, 2024



BY: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

OREGON LIQUOR AND CANNABIS COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Reappointee

Dennis Doherty of Sisters

Term

April 1, 2024 - March 31, 2028

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 471.705 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Required.

Composition³

The commission has nine Oregon residents, with no more than five belonging to the same political party. Membership includes:

- one individual from each congressional district (WARREN (CD1/D), CURRIN (CD2/R), FLOYD (CD3/I), HAYS (CD4/D), MALETIS (CD5/R), GYAPONG (CD6/N/A);
- one individual from eastern Oregon (DOHERTY (D));
- one individual from western Oregon (CHOUREY (D)); and
- one individual representing the public at large (GLYNN (D)).

Each commissioner must have resided in Oregon for at least five years, be an elector, and be at least 30 years old. One member must represent the food and beverage industry (FLOYD) and no other commissioner may have a financial interest, or a household or immediate family member with financial interest, in the manufacture of alcoholic beverages in Oregon.⁴

¹ <u>Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2023)</u>, <u>ORS 171.565 (2023)</u>.

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ ORS 471.705 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 471.710 (2023).

Commissioners serve four-year terms that commence on April 1, are eligible for reappointment, and limited to two full terms. The Governor designates the chair.⁵ A majority of the commissioners constitutes a quorum.

Duties⁶

The commission is responsible for regulating the manufacture, possession, sale, purchase, transportation, importation, and delivery of alcoholic liquor, wine, beer, cider, and marijuana in Oregon by administering the Liquor Control Act and the Control, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act. The agency also regulates the production, processing, and sale of medical products sold to Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) cardholders in OLCC licensed marijuana retail shops.

The commission must:

- appoint an administrator who serves as the commission secretary, records custodian, and the manager who administers the laws and handles personnel;
- grant, refuse, suspend, delay, or cancel licenses or permits;
- collect specified taxes and fees and maintain specified funds;
- investigate and aid in the prosecution of statutory violations;
- adopt necessary rules and regulations;
- regulate the advertisement of alcohol;
- establish stores and warehouses for selling alcohol;
- administer the Control, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act and portions of the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act;
- report specified information to the Legislative Assembly each biennium;
- consult and coordinate with state agencies and local government; and
- establish and consult with specified advisory committees.

⁶ ORS chapters <u>471</u>, <u>473</u>, <u>474</u>, <u>475C</u> (2023).



⁵ ORS 471.715 (2023).

Liquor and Cannabis Commission, Oregon

Agency: Liquor & Cannabis Commission, Oregon	Policy Area: Public Safety
Authorization: ORS 471.705	Board Admin: Craig Prins
Min Members: 7 Max Members: 9	Address:
Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2	9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd
Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes	Portland, OR 97222-7355
	503-872-5062
	Craig.Prins@oregon.gov

Current Appointments

Mr Maletis, Matthew "Matt"	Term(s):	4/1/2021 - 3/31/2025
CD 5; Republican		11/17/2017 - 3/31/2021
Position Number: 7		
Warren, Tamiko	Term(s):	2/16/2024 - 3/31/2025
CD 1; Democrat		
Position Number: 1		
Ms Currin, Jennifer E	Term(s):	4/1/2021 - 3/31/2025
CD 2; Republican		9/25/2017 - 3/31/2021
Position Number: 2		
Mr Doherty, Dennis D	Term(s):	4/1/2024 - 3/31/2028
CD 5; Democrat (East of the Cascades Rep)		11/19/2021 - 3/31/2024
Position Number: 5		
Mrs Floyd, Kiauna K	Term(s):	4/1/2021 - 3/31/2025
CD 3; Independent (Food & Beverage Rep)		3/1/2019 - 3/31/2021
Position Number: 3		
Ms Hayes, Alicia A	Term(s):	10/5/2023 - 3/31/2027
CD 4; Democrat		
Position Number: 4		
Syapong, Fay	Term(s):	11/19/2021 - 3/31/2025
CD 6; Unaffiliated		
Position Number: 6		
Glynn, Mary Ellen	Term(s):	2/16/2024 - 3/31/2027
CD 3; Democrat		

Chourey, Nikhil "Nik"	Term(s):	2/16/2024 - 3/31/2027	
CD 3; Democrat (West of the Cascades Rep)			
Position Number: 9			
Vacant Positions			