Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules and

Executive Appointments

DATE: September 10, 2024

BY: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments



OREGON CANNABIS COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Oregon Cannabis Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

New Appointee

Jason Harlacher of Grants Pass

Term

October 1, 2024 - December 31, 2027

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

475C.930 (2021)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The commission consists of nine members, including:

- the Public Health Officer or designee (JEANNE);
- a registry identification cardholder (TAYLOR);
- a marijuana producer who is a registry identification cardholder (HARLACHER);
- an attending provider (KNOX);
- an Oregon Health Authority (OHA) representative (OURSO);
- an Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) representative (BORUP);
- a local health officer (LEUDTKE);
- a law enforcement officer (BURKE); and
- a person knowledgeable about research proposal grant protocols (VACANT).

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2023), and 171.565 (2023).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ 475C.930 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

Members serve four-year terms and at the pleasure of the Governor.⁴ The commission selects its chair and vice chair from its membership and must meet at least once a quarter. A majority of the members constitutes a quorum. ⁵

Duties⁶

The commission is established within the OHA. It advises OHA on the administration of the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act and the OLCC on the administration of the Adult and Medical Use of Cannabis Act, as it relates to registry identification cardholders and primary caregivers.

⁶ 475C.930 (2023) to 475C.939 (2023).



^{4 475}C.930 (2023)

⁵ 475C.933 (2023).

Cannabis Commission, Oregon

Agency: Health Authority, Oregon

Authorization: ORS 475C.930

Min Members: 8 Max Members: 9

Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2

Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes

Policy Area: Health

Board Admin: Megan Lockwood

Address:

, OR

971-673-0620

megan.r.lockwood@dhsoha.state.or.us

Current Appointments

Taylor, Anthony

Registry Identification Cardholder

Position Number: 2

Term(s):

11/20/2021 - 11/19/2025

11/20/2017 - 11/19/2021

Jeanne, Thomas "Tom"

Public Health Officer or Designee

Position Number: 1

Harlacher, Jason

Medical Grower Position Number: 3 Term(s):

Term(s):

10/1/2024 - 12/31/2027

Mr Ourso, Andre

OHA Representative

Term(s):

11/20/2021 - 11/19/2025

11/20/2017 - 11/19/2021

Position Number: 5

Borup, Amanda K

OLCC Representative

Term(s):

11/20/2021 - 11/19/2025

12/17/2018 - 11/19/2021

Position Number: 6

Dr. Luedtke, Patrick "Pat"

Local Health Officer

Term(s):

11/20/2021 - 11/19/2025

11/20/2017 - 11/19/2021

Position Number: 7

Mr Burke, George A

Law Enforcement

Position Number: 8

Term(s):

2/14/2022 - 2/13/2026

10/1/2020 - 2/13/2022

Vacant Positions

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
4	Mr Ourso, Andre	Governor	11/20/2017	11/19/2021

Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
9	Rae, Adrianne "Adie"	Governor	11/20/2021	11/19/2025