Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules and Executive Appointments DATE: September 10, 2024



BY: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst

RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

OCEAN POLICY ADVISORY COUNCIL

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Ocean Policy Advisory Council subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Reappointee

Susan Chambers of Coos Bay

Term

July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2025

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 196.438 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The council is composed of 24 members, including:

- the Governor or designee, nonvoting (VACANT);
- a representative of the governing body of Coos, Curry, Douglas or Lane County, approved by those bodies (MAIN);
- a representative of the governing body of Clatsop, Lincoln or Tillamook County, approved by those bodies (YAMAMOTO);
- an elected city official from a coastal city, with advice from an Oregon Coastal Zone Management Association (RECHT);
- the director or designee, nonvoting, of the:
 - Department of Environmental Quality (HOOFF);
 - Department of Fish and Wildlife (GROTH);
 - Department of Geology and Mineral Industries (ALLAN);
 - Department of Land Conservation and Development (PHIPPS);
 - Department of State Lands (VACANT);
 - Parks and Recreation Department (HILLMAN);
 - o Department of Agriculture (TAYLOR); and

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2023) and 171.565 (2023).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ ORS 196.438 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

- Oregon State University Sea Grant College (NIELSEN);
- a representative of each of the following ocean interests:
 - o commercial ocean fisheries from Newport north (VACANT);
 - o commercial ocean fisheries from Newport south (CHAMBERS);
 - noncommercial ocean fisheries from Newport north (VACANT);
 - o charter, sport or recreation ocean fisheries of Newport south (HEAP);
 - o ports marine navigation or transportation (EDWARDS);
 - coastal nonfishing recreation interests (O'CONNOR);
 - a coastal conservation or environmental organization (BROCK);
 - Oregon Indian tribes, in consultation with the Commission on Indian Services (CORVI);
 - a coastwide organization representing a majority of small ports and local governments, *nonvoting*, (MONROE); and
 - o a statewide conservation or environmental organization (LIEBEZEIT); and
- two public members, one of whom must be a resident of a coastal county (FEREDAY, JOYCE).

Gubernatorial appointees serve four-year terms and are eligible for reappointment. A majority of voting members constitutes a quorum. The voting members select a chair. The council meets at least once every six months.⁴

Duties⁵

The council must:

- review the Territorial Sea Plan and Oregon Ocean Resources Management Plan;
- advance policies for the conservation and use of ocean resources to the federal government and any multistate bodies;
- discuss ocean resource policy, planning, and management issues;
- offer advice to the Governor, the State Land Board, state agencies, and local governments on specific ocean resources management issues;
- encourage participation of federal agencies in ocean resources planning;
- establish a permanent scientific and technical advisory committee;
- consult with the Department of Fish and Wildlife regarding recommendations for potential sites for marine reserve designation; and
- appoint a member to the Oregon Coordinating Council on Ocean Acidification and Hypoxia.

⁵ ORS 196.443 to 196.573 (2023).



⁴ ORS 196.448 (2023).

Ocean Policy Advisory Council	
Agency: Land Conservation and Development,	Policy Area: Natural Resources
Department of	Board Admin: Andy Lanier
Authorization: ORS 196.438	Address:
Min Members: 12 Max Members: 24	Coastal and Coastal Services Division
Term Length: 4 Term Limit: 2	635 Capitol Street NE, Suite 150
Senate Confirmation Required?: Yes	Salem, OR 97301-2540
	503-206-2291
	Andy.LANIER@dlcd.oregon.gov

Current Appointments

Ms Chambers, Susan L South Coast Commercial Fisheries Position Number: 2	Term(s):	7/1/2021 - 6/30/2025 2/14/2018 - 6/30/2021
Mr Heap, Richard T Jr. South Coast Sport/Recreational Fishing Position Number: 4	Term(s):	7/1/2021 - 6/30/2025 7/1/2017 - 6/30/2021 3/15/2017 - 6/30/2017
Edwards, Nicholas Ports, Marine Transportation or Navigation Position Number: 5	Term(s):	10/5/2023 - 6/30/2027
O'Connor, Amelia Nonfishing recreation Position Number: 6	Term(s):	10/5/2023 - 6/30/2027
Ms Brock, Tara C Coastal Conservation or Environmental Organization Position Number: 7	Term(s):	7/1/2022 - 6/30/2026 10/1/2020 - 6/30/2022
Corvi, Margaret Tribal Representative Position Number: 8	Term(s):	7/1/2023 - 6/30/2027 10/1/2020 - 6/30/2023
Mr Monroe, Ray S Representative of a coastwide organization representing a majority of small ports and local governments Position Number: 9	Term(s):	7/1/2023 - 6/30/2027 11/25/2019 - 6/30/2023
Liebezeit, Joseph "Joe" R Statewide Conservation/Environmental Organization Position Number: 10	Term(s):	11/19/2021 - 6/30/2025

Mr Fereday, James "Jaime" S Coastal; Public At Large Position Number: 11	Term(s):	7/1/2020 - 6/30/2024 9/26/2016 - 6/30/2020
Joyce, Margaret "Peggy" Public Member Position Number: 12	Term(s):	11/19/2021 - 6/30/2025
Groth, Scott ODFW Designee Position Number: 15	Term(s):	-
Allan, Jonathan DOGAMI Designee Position Number: 16	Term(s):	-
Ms Taylor, Alexis M Dept. of Agriculture Designee Position Number: 17	Term(s):	-
Commissioner Yamamoto, David H Tillamook, Lincoln and Clatsop County Representative Position Number: 18	Term(s):	4/1/2019 - 6/30/2022
Mr Main, Robert "Bob" E South Coast Government Position Number: 19	Term(s):	7/1/2022 - 6/30/2026 7/1/2017 - 6/30/2021 3/15/2017 - 6/30/2017
Recht, Fran Coastal Elected City Official Position Number: 20	Term(s):	4/22/2022 - 6/30/2025
Ms Phipps, Lisa M DLCD Designee Position Number: 21	Term(s):	-
Nielsen, Karina Oregon Sea Grant Director Position Number: 22	Term(s):	-
Hooff, Rian Oregon DEQ Designee Position Number: 23	Term(s):	-

Hillman, Laurel

OPRD Designee

Position Number: 24

Vacant Positions							
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End			
1	Mr Dunn, Kevin L	Governor	7/1/2017	6/30/2021			
1	Mr McMullen, Scott R	Governor	3/1/2014	6/30/2017			
1	Mr McMullen, Scott R	Governor	4/4/2005	6/30/2008			
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End			
3	Mr Holloway, John O	Governor	7/1/2018	6/30/2022			
3	Mr Holloway, John O	Governor	9/19/2014	6/30/2018			
3	Mr Warrens, Frank R	Governor	3/1/2014	6/30/2017			
3	Mr Warrens, Frank R	Governor	4/4/2005	6/30/2008			
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End			
13	Mr Miner, Jason D	Statute/Bill					
13	Goldfarb, Gabriela	Unknown					
13	Mr Bowles, Ed	Statute/Bill					
Pos	Former Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End			
14	Ms Sumption, Lisa L	Statute/Bill					
14	Mr Wood, Tim	Statute/Bill					
14	Mr Carrier, Mike	Statute/Bill					

Term(s):

-