Memorandum

PREPARED FOR: Senate Committee on Rules and Executive Appointments DATE: May 20, 2024 BX: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst



BY: Leslie Porter, Legislative Analyst RE: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

OREGON TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Oregon Transportation Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Re-appointee

Julie Brown of Medford

Term

July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2028

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 184.612 (2023)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Required.

Composition³

The commission consists of five members appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate (BEYER (D), **BROWN (R)**, CHAPMAN (D), SMITH (D), BAKER (R)). Members must be appointed with consideration of the different geographic regions of the state with one member being a resident of the area east of the Cascade Range. Not more than three members may belong to one political party.

Members serve four-year terms and at the pleasure of the Governor. The Governor must appoint one of the members as chairperson. The chairperson appoints one of the other members as vice chairperson, and both have such terms, duties, and powers as the commission determines are necessary for the performance of such offices.

At the time of appointment, a member or a relative of a member may not have an actual conflict of interest. When met with a potential or actual conflict of interest, a member must announce publicly the nature of conflict and refrain from participating as a public official in any discussion or debate on the issue out of which the conflict arises. The

¹ Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2023).

² ORS 244.050 (2023).

³ ORS 184.612 (2023); ORS 182.100 (2023) for affirmative action policy; ORS 236.115 (2023) for diversity criteria.

member may vote on that issue only if the member's vote is necessary to meet a requirement of a minimum number of votes to take official action.

A majority of the members constitutes a quorum. If a quorum is present, the commission may take action by an affirmative vote by a majority of the members who are present. No individual member may exercise any administrative authority with respect to the Department of Transportation. The commission must meet at least quarterly. A vacancy does not impair the right of the remaining members to exercise all the powers of the commission, except that three members of the commission must agree in the selection, vacation, or abandonment of state highways, and in case the members are unable to agree, the Governor has the right to vote as a member of the commission. The commission must keep complete and accurate records of all the meetings, transactions, and business of the commission.

Duties⁴

The commission establishes state transportation policy and guides the planning, development, and management of a statewide transportation network. The commission must:

- appoint a Director of Transportation to supervise the Department of Transportation (ODOT), who is subject to confirmation by the Senate;
- establish the policies for ODOT's operation;
- develop and maintain state transportation policies and a 20-year long-range plan;
- develop plans for each mode of transportation;
- initiate studies to guide the director concerning transportation needs;
- prescribe the administrative practices followed by the director;
- enter into intergovernmental agreements with local governments and local service districts to encourage cooperation and maximize the efficiency;
- review and approve ODOT's proposed transportation projects, budget, anticipated capital construction requirements, construction priorities, and selection, vacation, or abandonment of state highways;
- adopt a statewide transportation strategy on greenhouse gas emissions;
- adopt necessary rules and orders;
- review and update the criteria used to select projects within the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program;
- compile an inventory of real property owned by ODOT;
- approve the appointment of a chief engineer;
- report to the Governor on legislative, budgetary, and administrative programs;

⁴ ORS 184.612 to 184.843 (2023).



- designate an ODOT internal auditor and report on audits to the Joint Legislative Audit Committee;
- develop standards for the consistent description and reporting of the condition of transportation infrastructure owned by the state, counties, and cities;
- develop a website with information about projects in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program;
- appoint specified advisory committees to advise the commission on its work;
- distribute moneys in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Fund; and
- provide two members to serve on the Road User Fee Task Force.

The commission may:

- provide an official seal and hire necessary staff;
- enter into written agreements relating to transportation projects or research;
- coordinate and administer programs related to transportation;
- require the director to furnish information in order to study ODOT;
- adopt any rules, establish any policy, or exercise any other duty, function, or power if a statute gives such power to ODOT;
- establish criteria for the disposition of real property by the department; and
- provide matching grants for safety improvement projects near schools.



Transportation Commission, Oregon

Agency: **Transportation, Oregon Department of** Authorization: **ORS 184.612** Min Members: **5** Max Members: **5** Term Length: **4** Term Limit: **2** Senate Confirmation Required?: **Yes** Policy Area: Transportation & Infrastructure Board Admin: Sabrina Foward Address: 355 Capitol Street NE, MS #11 Salem, OR 97301-3871 503-385-5155

Sabrina.FOWARD@odot.state.or.us

Current Appointments

Ms Brown, Julie A	Term(s):	7/1/2024 - 6/30/2028
Republican		7/1/2020 - 6/30/2024
Position Number: 1		9/28/2018 - 6/30/2020
Chapman, Alicia	Term(s):	7/1/2024 - 6/30/2028
Democrat		7/1/2023 - 6/30/2024
Position Number: 2		
Baker, Jeff	Term(s):	7/1/2023 - 6/30/2025
Republican		
Position Number: 3		
Mr Beyer, Lee L	Term(s):	1/1/2023 - 6/30/2025
Democrat		
Position Number: 4		
Ms Smith, Sharon R	Term(s):	9/1/2019 - 6/30/2023
Democrat; East of the Cascades		
Position Number: 5		

Vacant Positions