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The Board of Dentistry was created by an Act of the 

Legislature in 1887. The oldest health licensing board in 

Oregon.

The mission of the Oregon Board of Dentistry is to promote 

quality oral health care and protect all communities in the 

State of Oregon by equitably and ethically regulating 

dental professionals.
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FUNDING

The activities of the Board are mainly funded from license 

application, renewal, and permit fees paid by licensees, 

as well as dental assistants for certifications. 

The Board licenses Dentists, Dental Hygienists and Dental 

Therapists. The Board regulates dental assistants but does not 

license them.

The OBD’s 2023-2025 Budget is approximately $4.2 million. 
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Ten Members serve on the Board:

• Six Dentists

• Two Dental Hygienists  

• Two Public Members

There are 8 staff members equivalent to 7.5 FTE.

All board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the 

Senate. A term is four years in length. They can serve two terms.
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OBD Strategic Priorities & Goals
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As of August 1, 2024, Oregon had 3765 dentists, 4288 dental            

hygienists and 22 dental therapists.(8075 total Licensees)  
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The Board issues about 400 new licenses per calendar year.
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Licensing Basics

8075 Licensees – Dentists, Dental Hygienists and Dental Therapists

The license application process is online –  Instructions are 

provided online and there is a licensing database, where applicants 

upload all their documents and track the application process. 

OBD offers customer service options in person, by phone and email.

Licensing Application/Renewal Process

Online via the licensing database

Frequency of required renewal?  Biennial, so renew every 2 years

Average processing time? Just under 7 Days for new apps, unless criminal 

background, licensed in other states or other issues. 

Renewals are automatic

How many current applicants in licensing queue? 

31 applicants
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   Licensing Application/Renewal Process

Penalties for late renewal?  YES, per OAR 818-021-0085, fees vary 

depending on time frame: $50 late fee up to $750

Biggest obstacles/challenges to timely application/renewal processing? 

Staffing, holidays, technology, user error.  

Anything the Legislature can assist with? 

Appreciate being asked, and ideally health boards would be part of 

conversation early if any proposed legislation would change or update the 

Dental Practice Act.
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Fees - There are two types of application fees: By Examination 

is most commonly used pathway for licensees passing clinical 

exams within the past five years. License Without Further 

Examination (LWOFE) is for licensees applying by past 

credentialing, experience and continuing education. LWOFE fees 

are higher due to the increased workload by staff to review.

Fees Rate

Application Fees:

Dentists $445 

Dental Hygienists $210 

Dental Therapists $210 

LWOFE – Dentists, Dental Hygienist and Dental Therapists $820

2-Year License renewal fee:

Dental $440 

Dental Hygiene $255

Dental Therapists $255

Anesthesia Permits:

Nitrous Oxide $40 

Minimal Sedation $75 

Moderate Sedation $75 

Deep Sedation $75 

General Anesthesia $140 
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Temporary Licenses

Temporary Volunteer Practice Approval Authorization for volunteer    

allowed per statute (HB 4096)2022 and rule. These are issued for 

a maximum of 30 days per calendar year without compensation.

So far in 2024, we have issued 10 Temporary Authorizations.

Out-of-State Licensees

Licensing process – same for all applicants no matter where they live. 

Interstate Compacts – CSG Dental/Dental Hygiene License Compact 

Commission had their inaugural meeting on Aug 28th with 9 states 

participating. 

A lot of bureaucracy and steps before a license privilege would be issued 

(maybe in 2026). I provided the Board a 7-page document with my review  

of the concerns and issues in joining a license compact. That was 

submitted with this presentation and should be available on OLIS.

License Suspension

Average # of suspensions per year?  One to two per year.
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Time to License

Average time to License applicant is under 7 days once 

all required documentation is in their license portal.

           

Customer Service Survey Results for FY 2024

94% of Surveys received rated overall service as     

“Good” or “Excellent” in Fiscal Year 2024 
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The OBD is always a resource for the Legislature on 

anything related to Dental Practice Act statutes, 

rules or proposed changes when requested of it.

stephen.prisby@obd.oregon.gov

Stephen Prisby, OBD Executive Director

971-673-3200

mailto:stephen.prisby@obd.oregon.gov
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