Response to information request



Tiffany McDole & Lauren Peisach

June 18, 2024

tmcdole@ecs.org and lpeisach@ecs.org

This response was prepared for the Oregon Joint Task Force on Statewide Educator Salary Schedules.

Your Question:

You asked for information on compensation for student teachers.

Our Response:

The cost of obtaining a teaching certificate can be a barrier for some teacher candidates as they work through the state certification processes. To help reduce this barrier, some states allow student teachers to be compensated or provide grant/scholarship opportunities for students while they complete their clinical experience.

Some states also provide financial incentives to teacher candidates more broadly, often in the form of scholarships to enroll in education preparation programs or loan forgiveness programs. According to Education Commission of the States' <u>50-State Comparison on Teacher Recruitment and Retention</u>, <u>38 states and D.C.</u> have at least one such program in statute to recruit teachers to underserved schools and/or shortage subject areas.

Below are examples of states that provide teacher candidates with stipends or scholarship opportunities during their student teaching, though this is not a comprehensive 50-state scan.

State Examples

Colorado: HB 22-1220 (2022, enacted) creates the Student Educator Stipend Program and requires the department of education to collect data to measure the effectiveness of the stipend program. Eligible students in a 16-week residency may receive \$11,000 and students in a 32-week residency may receive \$22,000. Program evaluators have noted that early results show the program made a difference in teacher candidates continuing their preparation. Candidates reported lower anxiety and reported using the funds for primary living expenses, such as housing and food. In addition, the Colorado Center for Rural Education and the Colorado Department of Higher Education administer the Colorado Rural Teaching Stipend, with a stipend of up to \$4,000 for students who complete their final student teaching experience in a rural district and commit to teaching in a rural district for at least two years.

Indiana: Ind. Code Ann. § 21-13-7-1 provides requirements for the Student Teaching Stipend for High-Need Fields. Applicants must be enrolled at an institution that would enable them to teach in a high-need field or in special education, participate in student teaching as a degree requirement, have a GPA upon entering student teaching that is either what is required by the institution or at least a 2.0, and agree to teach in Indiana for at least three years after graduation. Applicants may receive a scholarship of up to \$4,000. Ind. Code Ann. § 21-13-8-1 establishes and outlines requirements for the Earline S. Rogers Student Teaching Scholarship for Minority Students. The scholarship is also up to \$4,000 and requires recipients, if hired, to teach for three years following educator preparation.

Maryland: H.B. 1219 (2023, enacted), the Educator Shortage Reduction Act, creates the Teacher Development and Retention Program, including a pilot of financial support for candidates interested in pursuing the teaching profession. Candidates must begin their teacher preparation at an institute in Maryland with at least 40% of attendees receiving a Pell Grant. The financial support consists of two parts: an initial one-time stipend for

participation in an experiential learning opportunity in a classroom and an educator internship stipend. The initial stipend amount is up to \$3,500. The internship stipends may be up to \$20,000 for a 10-month educator internship. Eligible candidates must pledge to teach in a high-needs school, grade level or content area in which there is a shortage of teachers for at least two years.

Michigan: The legislature <u>established</u> the MI Future Educator Student Teacher Stipend <u>program</u>. Eligible students receive a \$9,600 stipend per semester of student teaching. The stipend is available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Minnesota: Statute outlines two grant programs to provide financial assistance to students enrolled in teacher preparation programs that require at least 12 weeks of student teaching. The first program provides student teacher grants for students from low-income communities who intend to teach in a license shortage area or rural school district in shortage areas (Minn. Stat. Ann. § 136A.1275). The second program provides grants for underrepresented student teachers (Minn. Stat. Ann. § 136A.1274). Eligible students can receive awards of up to \$7,500 for one term in which they are completing the required student teaching experience. Both programs are also highlighted here.

North Dakota N.D. Admin. Code 67.1-02-01-01 allows student teachers to receive a stipend from the school where they have student taught.

Oklahoma: <u>S.B.</u> <u>1038</u> (2021, enacted) allows a student teacher to receive compensation for up to one full year and removes the requirement that the minimum teacher internship be complete prior to taking a paid position as a student teacher. According to a <u>fact sheet</u>, the department of education committed federal relief dollars to fund the program through school year 2023-24.

Oklahoma: <u>S.B. 1213</u> (2024, failed) this bill would have directed the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education to require teacher education programs to provide \$3,000 stipends for student teachers.

Pennsylvania: H.B. 301 (2024, enacted) establishes the Educator Pipeline Support Grant Program under the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency for individuals who are enrolled in an approved educator preparation program in the state, meet the minimum grade point average requirement, are placed as a student teacher within the state and obtain all necessary clearances. It requires an applicant to agree to work as a teacher at a school entity or nonpublic school for at least three years unless PHEAA determines there are extenuating circumstances. It provides grant awards of \$10,000, with an additional \$5,000 grant available to those who complete their student teaching experience in a school entity that attracts few student teachers or has a high rate of open teaching positions. It provides a minimum grant of \$2,500 to the student's cooperating teacher unless the cooperating teacher receives compensation from the institution of higher education for their services.

Wisconsin: S.B. 917 (2024, failed) this bill would have required school boards to pay each student teacher who teaches in the school district an hourly wage of at least \$15 per hour. The bill also would have required the department of public instruction to reimburse school boards for the cost of paying student teachers.