The Oregon Nursing Facility
Provider Assessment

House Committee on Revenue
January 11, 2024

OHCA Improving lives by advancing quality ca Oregon since 1950

OOOOOOOOOOOO




Provider Assessment Background

©)

Federal law permits states to levy an assessment on specified health care entities, including
nursing facilities. At least 43 states currently levy a nursing facility assessment.

The nursing facility assessment was first approved by the Oregon Legislature in 2003. The
Legislature has approved six-year extensions in 2007, 2013, and 2018 with bipartisan support.

The total revenues the state receives from the assessment consist of the assessment rate
multiplied by the number of patient days for a calendar quarter. Assessment revenues receive
federal match along with state general funds to support care for Medicaid beneficiaries.

The assessment rate is capped at 6% of the annual gross revenue of all nursing facilities,
except for the two Oregon Veterans’ Homes. The cap is provided for in federal law as part of a

safe harbor exception.

The current assessment rate is $34.02.




Who Pays the Assessment?

All licensed nursing facilities in Oregon pay the assessment, except for the two Oregon Veterans’
Homes in The Dalles and Lebanon.

OREGON NURSING HOME DETAILS

Nursing Facilities
Total Licensed Beds with Medicaid
Contracts

123 10,434
129 101 655 (95% of all facilities (98% of all beds in

in Oregon) Oregon)

Licensed Beds with

Licensed Nursing
Medicaid Contracts

Facilities

Reference: Nursing Homes including Rehab Services. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS). Updated November 1, 2023.




Benefit to Oregonians and the State

v’ Supports access to nursing facility care for low-income Oregonians.

v Reduces General Fund burden for the State to fund long term care services.
v’ Supports quality of care, including some of the highest staffing levels nationally.

$947.7 Million

Revenue collected from providers paying the
assessment since 2003.

$1.7 Billion

Of federal funds leveraged to Oregon from the
assessment since 2003 under the FMAP rate (currently
at roughly 59%).

$128.2 Million

Revenue generated in the 2021-23 biennium from the
assessment, not including the federal match.
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Annual Process for Establishing the
Provider Assessment Rate

Step 2

Step 1 ODHS reviews and audits
Cost reports are submitted S facility cost reports and
by nursing facilities to ODHS, annualizes data by February
due September 30. 28. Audits for bed days,

expenditures, and revenue.

Step 3

ODHS populates the
assessment rate-setting
model with bed days and

revenue by March 15.

—

Step 4

ODHS calculates bed days
and revenue trends by type
(Medicaid, Medicare,
Private) and calculates the
assessment rate by April 15.

v

Step 5 Step 6
Internal and external N ODHS Director sets new LTC

stakeholder agreement assessment rate by June 15
8 and notifies LTC providers.

Step 7

New assessment rate is
effective July 1.




2024 Legislative Action Needed

o Under Oregon law, the current long term care assessment sunsets
in 2026, during the 2025-27 biennium.

o The Legislature must act to extend the assessment for another six
years. (LC 160)

o Extending the nursing facility assessment now supports stability
and predictability for Medicaid funding of long term care services in
nursing facilities. It also avoids projecting a loss of funds going into
the next biennial budget cycle.
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