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Our Mission

To provide people who work, own businesses or run organizations in Oregon
easy access to paid leave benefits so they have the support, resources,
and peace of mind when it matters most

Our Vision

A future Oregon where individuals, employers and families - of every kind —
have the time and support they need to care for themselves and their
loved ones during life’s most important moments
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What is Paid Leave Oregon?

Family Leave

Medical Leave

Safe Leave



Who is Covered by Paid Leave Oregon?

Employers
« All employers with at least one employee working in Oregon

Employees
» All employees working in Oregon

Elective Coverage

« Self-employed individuals and independent contractors
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* Tribal governments




Paid Leave Oregon’s timeline

2019 2022 2023
+ ? | | | f ? | | |

August 2019 September 2022 October November December January 2023 September 2023 October November December
| | | |
August 2019, September 6, January 1, September 3, benefits and
Paid Leave Equivalent employers assistance grants started for Paid
HB passed plan applications started Leave Oregon
into Oregon began withholding _ _
law contributions Equivalent plans became effective

Paid Leave wages

reported and contributions
paid starting the

first quarter of 2023
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Building Paid Leave Oregon:

Addressing Equity

Cultural
Universal Tribal Values and
Access Consultation Unconscious
Bias




Contributing together

Contribution Rate:

« Set annually for calendar year

« Same rate for all employers (and employees)

« Maximum rate is 1% of employee wages, up to $132,900

Employees Large Employer

60. 40.

of contribution rate of contribution rate



Small employers

 Fewer than 25 employees

 Not required to pay employer contributions
(40% of the rate)

« Employees contribute 60% of set rate
 Employer size determined for calendar year
« Eligible for assistance grants




Assistance grants

« Small employers may apply for an assistance
grant when an employee takes paid leave
« Grant amounts:
« $3,000 if hiring a replacement worker; or
« Up to $1,000 for wage related costs

« Up to 10 grants per year, one per
employee
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Large employers

25 or more employees

Required to contribute 40% of set rate

Employees contribute 60% of set rate

Not eligible for assistance grants

Can offer equivalent plans




Self employed

« Choose coverage through Paid Leave Oregon

« Pay contributions (employee portion — 60% of
the contribution rate) based on total net
income from the prior tax year

 Receive benefits based on total net income
contributions have been paid on



Example of payroll contributions and benefits

Example of payroll contributions
State Average Weekly Wage for 2023-24: $1,269.69

Annual ampLuy&e Annual empln yer
Paid Leave Paid Leave
-:::c-ntrl butions cantrlbutlcns

$28,080
_ slﬂ‘w - -
$4&7,058
($1,289.58) $402.35 $268.23 $1,057.44
High income $132,900 or more
;?: loyee ($2,555.78 or $£797.40
P more)

© Minimum Weekly Benefit Amount: $63.48
o Maximum Weekly Benefit Amount: $1,523.63

Dn& week's Paid
Leava benefits

Annual aarmngs
(Weekly earmngs]

Minimum wage
employee

Median income
employee
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Benefits estimate calculator

Do you know how much you received in gross wages in the last 12
months?

Gross wages means the amount before taxes.
O Yes

0 No

Enter your gross wages from the last 12 months:

$50,000.00 Calculate

If your application is approved, your estimated weekly benefit amount Is: $893.42

¥,

14



e
Equivalent plan data

Top 5 Industry Types

1.
2. Offices of Physicians
3. Offices of Lawyers Fullly lsiee Zretg
4. New Car Dealers Employer Administered 275
5. Software Publishers
Employees Covered 366,600 (15%)
Anticipated Lost Applications Large Employers 2,038 (19%)
2023 2024 Small Employers 1,162 (1%)

$ 306,000,000 $ 313,000,000 : .
Equivalent Plan Applications
Anticipated Benefits Saved
Received 3,268

2023 2024 O
Approved 3,174

$ 62,100,000 $ 160,200,000 e

As of 10/31/23




Leave types by the numbers

Total Application Total

% Applications
Bonding 429, 12,337 Applications Applications
Leave Processed Pending
Family Leave 14% 4,100
70%
Medical Leave 42% 12,350 (60% approved, 10% 30%

not approved)
Safe Leave 1% 367

16
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Top denial reasons

* Fraud

* Equivalent plan employees

* Not currently employed

* Not uploading correct information
* Wage-related




Application request breakdown

Leave Type Forecasted Actual Average Request

Bonding 9.5 weeks 10.5 weeks
Family 7/ weeks 6 weeks
Medical [ weeks 6.5 weeks
Safe 2 weeks 8.4 weeks

\V

As of 10/31/23 — Only includes Consecutive Leave Requests 18




Customer service experience

Total Calls 11,997
Received weekly (average) 1,143

Average Wait Time 20 mins, 26 sec.

Response time (average) 3 days

Average Talk Time / mins, 56 sec.




Original forecast vs actual revenue

May 2023 Received Contributions as of

10/31/23

Quarter Forecasted Contributions
Collected ($)

Q1 2023 $ 217,000,000 $ 224,580,000
Q2 2023 $ 199.650.000 $ 205,000,000
TOTAL $ 416,650,000 $ 429,580,000
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As of 10/31/23 20



Estimated benefit payments for
applications received to-date

Leave Type Estimated Benefits To Be Paid

Bonding $ 102,520,000 $ 112,530,000
Family $ 24,875,000 $ 18,235,000
Medical $ 75,690,000 $ 64,550,000
Safe $ 720,650 $ 1,960,000
TOTAL $ 203,805,650 $ 197,275,000 O
As of 10/31/23 — Includes Consecutive & Intermittent Leave Requests 21



How to report fraud

If you have information about fraudulent claims, we want to know
about it. We review every tip that we receive.

To report fraud: *
* Visit our website at paidleave.oregon.gov \
* Select the "Report fraud” button P

* Fill out the online form |_J

22
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Ways to speed up claims

» Uploading documents

« Employers verifying
employee notice in
Frances

« Understanding types of
leave (intermittent vs.
consecutive)

* Do not make changes to
your account during
claims process
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Questions?

Web: PaidLeave.Oregon.gov
Email: paidleave@oregon.gov

StateofOregon Web:
Employment Department Call: 833-854-0166

Email: paidleave@oregon.gov


https://paidleave.oregon.gov/Pages/default.aspx

PLACE OF

v, ga'd Leave PERFORMANCE
regon

A new program that allows employees in Oregon to take paid time off for
some of life’s most important moments that impact our families, health
and safety.

Note: For an employee who works in more than one state and in Oregon, this fact sheet
can help employers and employees decide if the employee is eligible for Paid Leave
contributions and benefits. Guidance is also available in Oregon Administrative Rule
471-070-3100.

What is Place of Performance? Place of Performance means the physical area where
a person does most of their work. Paid Leave Oregon determines both contributions
and benefits based on the wages paid to the employee. If an employee earns all their
wages entirely in Oregon, they contribute to and are eligible for Paid Leave benefits.

My business is in another state that already has a paid leave program.

Do we participate in Oregon’s program as well?

It depends where the employee is working. Contributions for Paid Leave Oregon are
required for employees that primarily work in Oregon, even if employees live in another
state, occasionally work in another state, or if the business is located/headquartered in
another state but the employee works remotely from Oregon. Oregon and Washington,
for example, aligned our rules relating to place of performance and remote work. More
information is available in the Washington place of performance letter.

Some or all of my employees work remotely. Where is their work location
decided?

If the employee permanently works remotely in Oregon, then their work location is in
Oregon, even if the work is directed from another state.

Does the employee and employer contribute to Paid Leave Oregon if the
employee lives in another state but works in Oregon?

Generally, if an employee physically works in Oregon, then employers send
contributions to Paid Leave Oregon. Employer and employee contributions are
generally required for employees that primarily work in Oregon, even if the employee
lives in another state or occasionally works in another state.

(Evicyment Departmen paidleave.oregon.gov

Place of Performance Fact Sheet EN | 2/2023



Guide for employees working in more than one state:

When you, the employer, have employees who work in more than one state, please
follow these steps to decide if contributions should be made to Paid Leave Oregon. Itis
important to follow these steps for each employee since the answers could be different
for everyone. Once you answer yes to a question, stop and do not go to the next step.

Step 1: Does the employee perform work in one state, or primarily work in one state, but
sometimes works in another state (not on a regular basis)?

1. Yes, they work entirely in Oregon. You report all wages earned for that employee to
Oregon, and pay Paid Leave Oregon contributions. Stop, don’t go further.

2. Yes, they work entirely in another state besides Oregon. Do not report any wages
earned by this employee to Oregon or pay any contributions for Paid Leave Oregon.
Stop, don’t go further.

3. No, they perform and regularly work in and outside of Oregon. Go to Step 2.

Step 2: Is there a base of operation where the employee physically starts work and
returns to work?

1. Yes, the base of operation is in Oregon. You report all wages earned for that employee
to Oregon, and pay Paid Leave Oregon contributions. Stop, don't go further.

2. Yes, the base of operation is outside of Oregon. Do not report any wages earned by this
employee to Oregon or pay any contributions for Paid Leave Oregon. Stop, don’t go
further.

3. No, there is no base of operation. Go to Step 3.

Step 3: Do you direct or control the work from Oregon and the employee works in
Oregon?

1. Yes,|direct or control work from Oregon and the employee performs work in Oregon.
You report all wages earned for that employee to Oregon, and pay Paid Leave Oregon
contributions. Stop, don’t go further.

2. No, | direct or control work from outside of Oregon, and the employee works in the state
where the direction or control occurs. Do not report any wages earned by this employee
to Oregon or pay any contributions for Paid Leave Oregon. Stop, don’t go further.

3. No, | do not direct or control the work from anywhere. Go to Step 4.

4. No, | direct or control work in a state the employee does not work. Go to Step 4

Step 4: Is the employee an Oregon resident?
1. Yes, You will report all wages earned for that employee to Oregon, and pay Paid Leave
Oregon contributions.
2. No, Do not report any wages earned by this employee or pay any contributions for Paid
Leave Oregon.

(Evicyment Departmen paidleave.oregon.gov

Place of Performance Fact Sheet EN | 2/2023



OFLA/Paid Leave
Oregon Common Questions

Paid Leave
\V

Paid Leave Oregon and the Oregon Bureau of Labor & Industries (BOLI)
created this document to help with some common questions about how Paid
Leave and the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) run concurrently.
Concurrency, or concurrently, means that Paid Leave and OFLA leave are
taken together.

Question: What does the employer need to tell the employee about Paid
Leave?

Answer: An employer must provide employees with a model notice (poster).
When an employee takes OFLA or leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act
(FMLA), the employer should let the employee know about Paid Leave and
should explain that OFLA, FMLA, and Paid Leave run at the same time if Paid
Leave is taken for a purpose covered by two or more programs.

Question: Must the employee take OFLA and Paid Leave at the same time if
both programs cover the purpose of the leave?

Answer: The employee may choose if they would like to take Paid Leave
benefits. However, if the employee takes Paid Leave for a purpose that qualifies
for both OFLA and Paid Leave, then the leave runs at the same time as OFLA.
Employees need to provide notice of their need for protected OFLA/FMLA leave
to their employers. Employees claiming Paid Leave will need to apply separately
for paid benefits.

Question: How will the employer know the employee applied for Paid Leave?

Answer: If the employer participates in the state Paid Leave program and not
an equivalent plan, the employer will receive a notice from OED that the
employee has applied for Paid Leave. The employer will then receive a second
notice from OED once a decision (approve or deny) has been made for the
Paid Leave application.

When the reason for leave is foreseeable, the employee is required to give
verbal notice to the employer at least 30 calendar days before starting leave

State of Oregon
Employment Department 1

Paid Leave Oregon - OFLA Paid Leave/OFLA FAQ/EN/8.2023



that they are applying for Paid Leave and the general reason for the leave. If
the leave is not foreseeable, the employee is required to give verbal notice to
the employer within 24 hours of starting leave and written notice within three
days. Employees that do not provide required notice to their employers may
have their first weekly benefit amount reduced by 25 percent.

Question: How many weeks of Paid Leave and OFLA leave can an employee
take?

Answer: Generally, an employee who takes Paid Leave is allowed up to 16 weeks
of total leave during the Paid Leave benefit year. This is a combination of Paid
Leave and unpaid OFLA leave. The amount of Paid Leave may not exceed 12
weeks. There is an exception to this general rule for an employee who takes two
additional weeks of Paid Leave for limitations related to pregnancy, childbirth, or
a related condition, in which case the combined amount of leave cannot exceed
18 weeks, with no more than 14 weeks taken as Paid Leave.

Question: Does OFLA/FMLA leave taken before the start of Paid Leave on
Sept. 3, 2023, limit the amount of Paid Leave an employee can take?

Answer: No. OFLA/FMLA leave taken before the start of Paid Leave will not
reduce the total amount of leave available during the Paid Leave benefit year.

Question: Is all leave taken under OFLA subject to the 16-18-week limit if it is
taken during the Paid Leave benefit year?

Answer: In general, yes - OFLA leave for bereavement and sick child leave are
subject to the cap during a Paid Leave benefit year, even though they are not
covered by Paid Leave. Note that there is an exception for leave taken under the
Oregon Military Family Leave Act - although it counts against OFLA, it is not
subject to the 16-18 week limit even if a Paid Leave benefit year has begun.

Question: If an employee takes OFLA leave that is not covered by Paid Leave
(bereavement or sick child), is the leave included in the total amount of leave
an employee can take under both OFLA and Paid Leave?

Answer: It depends. The combined maximum amount of leave that an
employee can take under Paid Leave and OFLA is based on the Paid Leave

State of Oregon
Employment Department 2

Paid Leave Oregon - OFLA Paid Leave/OFLA FAQ/EN/8.2023



benefit year, which starts when Paid Leave starts. If the Paid Leave benefit year
did not begin because the employee did not take any Paid Leave, then any OFLA
leave taken for a purpose that does not qualify for Paid Leave benefits would be
subject to applicable OFLA limits. If the Paid Leave benefit year began because
the employee took approved Paid Leave for any eligible purpose, then any OFLA
leave is included in the combined amount of leave and may reduce the 16-18
week limit allowed for the combined OFLA and Paid Leave.

Question: If an employee takes Paid Leave in September for six weeks, takes
four weeks of OFLA leave for sick child in December, and then submits a Paid
Leave application in March, how much Paid Leave and OFLA time does the
employee have left in the Paid Leave benefit year?

Answer: In this example, the employee’s Paid Leave benefit year began in
September, the Sunday before the date Paid Leave began, and will ordinarily run
for 52 weeks. This is the same time frame used to determine the maximum
amount of leave an employee can take under Paid Leave and OFLA (usually a 16-
week limit). The amount of time the employee took for OFLA sick child leave
after the initial Paid Leave was taken reduces the maximum amount of leave an
employee can take under Paid Leave and OFLA, since the employee already
used 10 weeks of leave (six weeks of Paid Leave + four weeks of OFLA leave) in
the benefit year. The employee has six weeks of leave remaining (16 week
maximum - 10 weeks of Paid Leave/OFLA already taken).

Question: OFLA requires parental leave to be taken consecutively, but Paid
Leave allows parental leave to be taken intermittently or consecutively, how
does this work when OFLA and Paid Leave run at the same time?

Answer: While OFLA generally allows an employer to require parental leave to
be taken as a consecutive block of time, failure to allow intermittent use of
parental leave (taken in minimum full-day increments periodically while
performing work when not taking leave) would violate Paid Leave requirements if
the employee is taking Paid Leave.

State of Oregon
Employment Department 3
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