Staff:

Lisa Gezelter, LPRO Analyst Ellen O'Brien, LPRO Analyst Taylor Bickel, LPRO Analyst Kristi Arrington, Committee Assistant William Best, Committee Assistant



Members:

Rep. Courtney Neron, Chair Rep. Zach Hudson, Vice-Chair Rep. Boomer Wright, Vice-Chair

Rep. Tracy Cramer Rep. Emily McIntire Rep. Hoa Nguyen Rep. Andrea Valderrama

HOUSE INTERIM COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Oregon State Capitol
900 Court Street NE, Room , Salem, Oregon 97301
Phone: 503-986-1664
Email: hed.exhibits@oregonlegislature.gov

AGENDA

Revision 1 Posted: DEC 06 02:35 PM

TUESDAY

Date: December 10, 2024

Time: 11:30 AM Room: HR C

Work Session

Introduction of Committee Legislative Concepts

When available, LC drafts will be posted on the committee's OLIS page.

Informational Meeting

Invited Speakers Only

Update on Accountability and Transparency

Dr. Charlene Williams, Director, Oregon Department of Education (ODE) Tim Boyd, Director, District and School Effectiveness, ODE Misael Flores Gutiérrez, Innovation and Partnership Strategist, ODE

East Metro Outreach, Prevention, and Intervention Program (EMOPI)

Brian Detman, Director, Oregon Youth Development Division, Oregon Department of Education Abraham Magaña, Grant Manager and Policy Analyst, Youth Development Division,

Oregon Department of Education

Marcell Fraizer, Violence Prevention and Community Partnerships Coordinator, City of Gresham Michael Fesser, Executive Director, Going Home II

High School Start Times

Aditi Subramaniam, Co-Chair, Multnomah Youth Commission

Financial Impact Statement Process

Amanda Beitel, Legislative Fiscal Officer, Legislative Fiscal Office Wendy Gibson, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Fiscal Office Lori Sattenspiel, Educational Consultant, Oregon School Boards Association

AGENDA (cont.) December 10, 2024

Sen. Michael Dembrow, Senate District 23

Financially Unsupported Education Requirements

Mike Wiltfong, Administrator, School Finance and School Facilities, Oregon Department of Education (ODE)

Kara Williams, Director, Inclusive Services, ODE

Morgan Allen, Coalition of Oregon School Administrators

Louis DeSitter, Oregon Education Association

Lindsi Leahy, Director, Unemployment Insurance, Oregon Employment Department

Karen Humelbaugh, Director, Paid Leave Oregon

School Facilities Funding

Michael Elliott, Director, School Facilities and Special Projects

Leanna Heiman, Administrator, Oregon School Capital Improvement Matching Program and Technical Assistance Program

Adam Krein, Facility Assessment Administrator, Oregon Department of Education

Legislator Updates

Note change: Presenter update.

For information on Language Access Services/Para más información sobre los Servicios de Acceso Lingüístico:

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/lpro/Pages/language-access.aspx

To access links to a livestream or recordings of legislative meetings:

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/citizen engagement/Pages/Legislative-Video.aspx