

February 14, 2022

Re: Support for HB 4077

Dear Chair Marsh and Members of the Committee,

The Jewish Federation of Greater Portland is writing to strongly urge the Committee to support HB 4077, the Environmental Justice for All bill.

The Governor's environmental justice bill would fund the development of an environmental justice mapping tool. This tool would help state agencies develop policies and programs that alleviate burdens and increase environmental benefits for vulnerable and highly impacted communities.

Oregon has diverse communities and geographic areas. Environmental factors can vary in relation to exposure of different health impacts - such as being near bad air pollution from a nearby highway, breathing dirty diesel, or living near a polluting facility. Having a centralized system to gather information would improve the state's understanding of environmental burdens and benefits on Oregon's low-income individuals and communities of color. Most importantly, it would contribute to creating well-designed programs that yield better outcomes for all Oregon residents.

Other states and the federal government use similar tools. Oregon has an opportunity to take the best practices from other states to develop strong data and mapping tools.

In order to address environmental injustice, it is important that the state develop tools that agencies can use to help make informed and data-focused decisions.

We respectfully urge a yes vote on HB 4077.

Thank you for your consideration,

Hank Kaplan Vice-Chair, Jewish Community Relations Council CHAIR

Lauren Goldstein

CAMPAIGN CHAIR

Ted Nelson

ALLOCATIONS CHAIR

Mindy Zeitzer

TREASURER

Simon Gottheiner

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

Ed Tonkin

GOVERNING BOARD

Leslie Beard
Emily Benoit
Jack Birnbach
Karen Blauer
Sarah Rosenberg Brown
Jodi Fried
Les Gutfreund
Jessica Zutz Hilbert
Hank Kaplan
Stuart Kirschner
Ronnie Malka
Alan Montrose
Nicole Sacks
Eliana Temkin

PRESIDENT AND CEO

Marc N. Blattner



CHAIR

Lauren Goldstein

CAMPAIGN CHAIR

Ted Nelson

ALLOCATIONS CHAIR

Mindy Zeitzer

TREASURER

Simon Gottheiner

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR

Ed Tonkin

GOVERNING BOARD

Leslie Beard
Emily Benoit
Jack Birnbach
Karen Blauer
Sarah Rosenberg Brown
Jodi Fried
Les Gutfreund
Jessica Zutz Hilbert
Hank Kaplan
Stuart Kirschner
Ronnie Malka
Alan Montrose
Nicole Sacks
Eliana Temkin

PRESIDENT AND CEO

Marc N. Blattner