

Board of Directors

Michele Bernal-Graves, MS
Treasurer
Alejandrina Filipe, RN, BSN
Maxine Fookson, PNP
Candice Jimenez, MPH
Elaine McKenzie, RN, MPH
Vice-President
Patricia Murphy, ND, LAC
Secretary
Patrick O'Herron, MD
President
Anita Randolph, PhD
Akash Singh JD

Advisory Board

Martin Donohoe, MD Ben Duncan Brian Gibbs, PhD, MBA Andy Harris, MD Chisao Hata Charles Hudson Zeenia Junkeer, ND Susan Katz, MD Yukiyo Kawano Jenny Lee Regna Merritt Damon Motz-Storey Joel Nigg, PhD John Pearson, MD Bonnie Reagan, MD Karen Steingart, MD, MPH Frances Storrs, MD February 8th, 2022

To: Senate Committee On Judiciary and Ballot Measure 110 Implementation

RE: Oregon Senate Bill 1568 - Early Compassionate Medical Release

Chair Prozanski, Vice Chair Thatcher, and members of the committee,

We, the undersigned health professionals and public health advocates in Oregon, support SB 1568 Compassionate Medical Release and its necessary updates to compassionate medical release laws for incarcerated Oregonians. Current policies recognize that it is in the best interest of our communities for incarcerated Oregonians to be released when, due to medical conditions, their continued incarceration is inhumane and no longer furthers the purposes of imprisonment; however, it is our belief as medical professionals and health advocates that the current eligibility criteria are too narrow, the application process is unclear, and the review of applications by non-health professionals is ineffective. To improve the current laws and achieve just health outcomes for incarcerated individuals, we support SB 1568 and its creation of an independent Medical Release Advisory Committee (MRAC) of 7-13 licensed medical professionals.

We urge Oregon legislators to adopt SB 1568 and its plan to improve upon the compassionate medical release laws for incarcerated Oregonians:

- The MRAC will have rule-making authority to ensure they can fully and meaningfully implement the mandates of this policy. This change will allow for a functional compassionate release mechanism that is accessible and navigable to the adults in custody (AICs) who are in need of compassionate release.
- A release navigator position will be created. This position shall be implemented to assist AICs with re-entry planning and ensure continuity of care in the community.
- If the MRAC recommends release, the applicant will be appointed counsel to assist them with the release court and the Board of Parole's review. This shall give AICs a fair and just route to release, as the current process remains daunting and inaccessible to most AICs and their loved ones.



- The sentencing courts and the Board of Parole can affirm MRAC's recommendation for release or deny release. The Board of Parole will retain the ability to weigh in on release recommendations if they find, by clear and convincing evidence, that the AIC poses a danger to the safety of another person or the public and the danger outweighs any compassionate reasons for the release.

SB 1568 is a vital step to eliminating the injustices endured by incarcerated individuals that have been further exacerbated by the COVID-19 pandemic. We urge its passage by the Oregon State Legislature.

Sincerely,

John Gillette, MD Doctor of Medicine

Linda Donnelly

Pamela Vasquez

Susan Heath

William Steven Herz, MD

George Feldman, MD

Jenny Pompilio MD, MPH

Buck Clarke

Harry Kershner, retired LVN

Edith Montgomery, OTR retired

Dana Weintraub

Katy Morrow

Elizabeth Erin Kelley

Anthony Albert

Ian Shelley

Sean Tenney

Virginia Feldman, MD

Saliha Abrams, LMT

Laura Walsh

Lynn Cardiff

Tangela Purdom



Marianne Mauldin, Physical Therapist Assistant

Marshall Goldberg, MD, MPH

Marilyn Keller

Mary Peterson

Dennis Sweeney, MD

Ed Averill

Ruth Dallas, RN

Randall Webb

Joel Kay, Physician (MD)

Mary Lynn O'Brien, M.D.

Tod Boyer

Brent Rocks

Karen Deora

Rich Iwasaki

Elijah Cetas

Sandi Meyer

Elizabeth Darby

Annette White-Parks, phd

John Nettleton

David Newman, M.S.N., F.N.P.

Tara Ohta

Melinda Strnad, MD

Marian Fish, DC, DABCO, CCSP

Regna Merritt, PA - retired

Mary Scott, ND, LAc

Gary Pederson, DDS, MSD

Philip Ratcliff

Cecil Prescod

Philip Newman, MD, FACS

Janice Sakofsky

Mick Alderman

Cassie Cohen

Harry Kershner, LVN

Diana Boss, MD



Dana Merrill

Claudia Martin, MD

Diane Whitney , MD

Marie Soller, MD

Lynn Edwards, MD (retired)

Ann Turner, MD

Thomas Karwaki

Tacey Conover

