Farmworker Overtime Comparison

Washington

55 hrs strict overtime threshold in 2022, which led to a devastating \$2 billion back-pay court decision.

48 hrs overtime threshold for 2023.

40 hrs overtime threshold for 2024.

California and Washington are the only states that have mandated a 40-hour threshold. 48 other states allow for more flexibility.

States meeting the Fair Labor Standards Act States
with
agricultural
specific
thresholds

States with strict 40 hr thresholds putting farmworkers out of work

New York

60 hrs overtime threshold for 2020

and 2021 with a

yearly review.

Oregon

An Oregon solution must preserve farmworkers' jobs, recognize Oregon's family farm economy, and treat both farmworkers and farmers fairly.

Minnesota

48 hrs overtime threshold with exemptions for well-paid, salaried farmworkers.

Maryland

60 hrs overtime threshold in 2019 with exemptions for piece-rate fruit laborers working 13 weeks or less and small farm employees, with exemptions for dairy and livestock operations.

California

40 hrs strict overtime threshold in 2022 resulting in small farms closing.

Colorado

60 hrs overtime threshold in 2022, then reducing to 56 hrs by 2024 for small farms and 48 hrs for large farms with a 22 week / 56 hrs threshold exemption during peak season.

Hawaii

40 hrs overtime threshold with a 20 week / 48 hrs threshold exemption during peak season.