

1/31/22

## Testimony in support the passage of Treasury Transparency Bill HB 4115.

I write in my capacity as the Climate Action Legislative Committee Chair of the Jewish Federation of Greater Portland.

Treasury Transparency Bill HB 4115, sponsored by Representatives Khan Pham (HD 46) and Paul Holvey (HD 8), and Senator Jeff Golden (SD 3), would ensure that the Oregon Treasury publicly releases information—such as climate risk assessments—about their investment holdings, which currently includes investments in climate-destroying fossil fuel companies.

Transparency is the first step in addressing the risks of climate change to Oregonians. We need to know the exposure of the state to climate risks to address those risks. These investment holdings are public information, and the Treasury possesses the data and to provide them at least once a year.

HB 4115 will ensure the Oregon Treasury is looking at the long-term soundness of its investments in the context of fossil fuel investments and their long-term climate risks. Our investments should not undermine their future by bankrolling a climate crisis linked to drier summers, unprecedented forest fires, and heat domes that we in Oregon have experienced.

The Jewish community has a long legacy of protecting our planet and our natural resources. Support of strong environmental policy reflects our community's commitment to ensuring that our children and our children's children inherit a world that is safe and habitable. We believe climate change is an overarching concern of today and tomorrow, and we support policies to effect the rapid adoption of clean and renewable energy sources and technologies and the phasing out of fossil fuel technologies which contribute to air pollution, respiratory illness, global warming.

We urge you to support the Treasury Transparency Bill HB 4115.

Thank you.

Brian Romer Climate Action Legislative Committee Chair, Jewish Community Relations Council Jewish Federation of Greater Portland CHAIR Lauren Goldstein

CAMPAIGN CHAIR Ted Nelson

ALLOCATIONS CHAIR Mindy Zeitzer

TREASURER Simon Gottheiner

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR Ed Tonkin

## **GOVERNING BOARD**

Leslie Beard Emily Benoit Jack Birnbach Karen Blauer Sarah Rosenberg Brown Jodi Fried Les Gutfreund Jessica Zutz Hilbert Hank Kaplan Stuart Kirschner Ronnie Malka Alan Montrose Nicole Sacks Eliana Temkin

PRESIDENT AND CEO Marc N. Blattner