



January 31, 2022

To: House Education Committee Chair Alonso Leon, Vice Chairs Neron and Weber, and Members of

the Committee

From: COSA and OSBA's Board and Superintendent Equity Committee Members and Leaders **Re:** Letter of Support for HB 4029: Board and Superintendent Professional Learning Bill

Dear Chair Alonso Leon, Vice Chairs Neron and Weber, and Members of the House Education Committee:

On behalf of the Coalition of Oregon School Administrators and Oregon School Boards Association, we strongly urge you to pass House Bill 4029.

In September 2020, our membership organizations formed a Board and Superintendent Equity Committee to prioritize shared professional development for boards and their superintendents because the collaborative partnership between boards and their respective superintendents is critical for improving student success.

There is a growing body of research that connects how a board functions to student achievement. For example, boards that work together on the following core areas are able to help enhance student success: i) provide responsible school district governance; ii) set high expectations for student learning with clear goals and plans for meeting those expectations; iii) create the conditions districtwide for student and staff success; iv) hold the school district accountable for meeting student learning expectations; and v) engage the community.

As we reflected on the research and best practices in Oregon and around the country, and our lived experiences, we developed HB 4029 to help:

- 1. Strengthen the partnership between boards and superintendents in service of Oregon students.
- 2. Improve access to shared professional learning and training around educational equity and collaborative governance for board members and superintendents that is on-going, meaningful, and action-oriented.

Given the current landscape of board and superintendent relationships, we believe that HB 4029 is both necessary and timely. Not only will the bill benefit boards and superintendents across Oregon, most importantly, we will be able to improve outcomes for students through meaningful partnerships and collaboration.

We urge you to vote yes on HB 4029.

Warmest Regards,

OSBA and COSA's Board and Superintendent Equity Committee Members and Leaders

(organized by district in alphabetical order)

Scott Rogers, Board Chair Athena-Weston 29J OSBA Board President

Mark Witty, Superintendent Baker School District OASE Past President

Chris Parra, D. Ed., Retired Superintendent Bethel School District COSA Support Team

Darin Drill, Superintendent Cascade School District COSA President-Elect

Peggy Clyne, Board Member Central School District

Jennifer Kubista, Superintendent Central School District COSA Equity Board Member

Cathy Hurowitz, Superintendent Clatskanie School District

Sami Al-AbdRabbuh, Board Chair Corvallis School District OSBA Board Members of Color Caucus President

Ryan Noss, Ed. D., Superintendent Corvallis School District

Tim Sweeney, Superintendent Coquille School District OASE President

Heidi Brown, Superintendent/Elem. Principal Crow-Applegate-Lorane School District COSA Elementary School Principals Assoc. President

La'Shawanta Spears, Director of Diversity/Inclusion Equity David Douglas School District COSA Equity Board Member Summer Catino, Superintendent Gaston School District

Chris Cronin, Board member Grant County ESD OSBA Board of Directors

Melissa Goff, Former Superintendent Greater Albany Public Schools

James Hiu, Acting Superintendent Gresham-Barlow School District COSA Past-President

Tricia Mooney, Superintendent Hermiston School District

Paul Andrews, Superintendent High Desert Education Service District OASE Executive Committee Member

Erika Lopez, Board Chair Hillsboro School District OSBA Board Vice President

Mike Scott, Superintendent Hillsboro School District OASE Executive Committee Member

Jacque Gerdes, Board Member Junction City School District

Kathleen Rodden-Nord, PhD. Retired Superintendent, Junction City School District Women Superintendents' Executive Committee Superintendent Search Consultant, HCE & COSA

George Mendoza, Superintendent La Grande School District OASE President-Elect

Jennifer Schiele, Ed.D., Superintendent Lake Oswego School District Carlos Sequeira, Administrator Lane Education Service District COSA Equity Board Member

Debbie Brockett, Superintendent McMinnville School District

Jessica Arzate, Board Chair Multnomah Education Service District OSBA Legislative Policy Committee

Paul Coakley, Superintendent Multnomah Education Service District COSA Equity Board Member

Libra Forde, Board Chair North Clackamas School District OSBA Board of Directors

Shay James, Superintendent North Clackamas School District

Shelly Reggiani, Administrator North Clackamas School District COSA Equity Board President

Carmen Gelman, Administrator North Clackamas School District COSA Equity Board President-Elect

Ginger Redlinger, Superintendent North Marion School District

Carolyn Bernal, Superintendent North Wasco County School District

Maureen J. Wolf, Board Member Northwest Regional Education Service District OSBA Board, Immediate Past President

Reta Doland, Superintendent Oakridge School District #76

Nicole Albisu, Superintendent Ontario School District Lisa Longoria, Administrator Ontario School District COSA Equity Board Member

Rachael George, Executive Director of Student Services and Elementary Programs Oregon Trail School District COSA President

Sonja Mckenzie, Board Member Parkrose School District OSBA President-Elect

Cammie deCastro, Superintendent Pine Eagle School District

Jared Cordon, Superintendent Roseburg Public Schools OASE Executive Committee Member

Danna Diaz, Superintendent Reynolds School District OASE Executive Committee Member

Koreen N. Barreras-Brown, Administrator Reynolds School District COSA Equity Board Member

Christy Perry, Superintendent Salem-Keizer Public Schools

Cynthia Richardson, Administrator Salem-Keizer Public Schools COSA Equity Board Past President

Iton Udosenata, Assistant Superintendent Salem-Keizer Public Schools COSA Board Past President

Susan Penrod, Superintendent Seaside School District

Dorie Vickery, Superintendent Sheridan School District Charis McGaughy, Interim Superintendent South Coast Education Service District

Nadira Rizkallah, Human Resource Director South Lane School District COSA Equity Board Member

Lisa Riggs, Superintendent Sweet Home School District

David Valenzuela, Superintendent Three Rivers School District OSAA Equity & Diversity Committee

Sue Rieke-Smith, Ed.D., Superintendent Tigard-Tualatin School District 23J

Heidi Sipe, Superintendent Umatilla School District Women Superintendents Executive Committee Member

Anthony Medina, Board Chair Woodburn School District OSBA Board of Directors

Carrie Zimbrick, Superintendent Willamina School District